Super Mom

9/11

Tommie phoned me in the office and said that America’s under attack.  I laughed at him “who will attack America!  It’s all just a joke my Love”.  I honestly thought he got caught with a seriously sick joke.  However I put on the radio and sure enough, they were saying something about a plane that had hit the world trade centre.  I went inside and put the TV on CNN.  Together my mom and I watched as the second plane hit the towers. 

I ran out to the office to tell my dad.  I could see that he did not completely believe me either.  We walked back into the house and saw absolute chaos on the TV.  People running in all directions.  People jumping from the building.  That personally got to me.  I couldn’t handle watching people jump to their death. 

I felt shocked.  Scared.  Sad.  Utter disbelieve.  I just could not accept that America! was under attack.  It made no sense to me at that stage.  We continued to watch CNN for days.  We cried many tears for those who lost their lives.  I especially found the phone calls made to loved-ones that was taped, terribly sad.  It broke my heart to see what those horrible sick people had done to so many innocent people.  How many families were affected by that attack.  How everyone in America, as well as the rest of the world were influenced by it.

A while ago I read about this project.  It’s a special tribute to each of the 2996 victims of 11 September 2001.  I feel it’s important to look at the victims themselves.  Not just how the attack influenced America and the world.  But how it affected indivual famlies.  I give tribute to John Robinson Lenoir (age 38).  The father of two children, the husband of Susan.  vice president, Sandler O’Neill & Partners Confirmed dead, World Trade Center, at/in building

 

Place killed: World Trade Center. Resident of Locust Valley, N.Y. (USA).

HThis was written about him in the New York Times: 

Dad the Dancing Bear

At his daughter’s birthday party, John Robinson Lenoir donned a pink tutu and skated onto the ice rink. For one time only, he turned into “Dad the dancing bear.” It was just the kind of thing he would do for his children, Courtney and Andrew.Mr. Lenoir, 38, a vice president at Sandler O’Neill & Partners, was never embarrassed about showing his love. A former defensive tackle at Duke, he married his college sweetheart, Susan, and moved to Locust Valley, N.Y.During the summers, he presided over clambakes and cookouts at the beach, and even found his way onto a boogie board. In quieter moments, he challenged his family and friends to games of Scrabble. They called him the “lord of the board” because he sat with a dictionary handy to check their words. Even so, he never had to play alone. “He was a lovable teddy bear,” said his father-in-law, Allan Haack.

Profile published in THE NEW YORK TIMES on September 22, 2001.

My thoughts are with everyone who misses him, who has been touched by his life.  Most especially today, I think of his wife, Susan and two children – Courtney and Andrew – who sorely miss him.ice president, Sandler O’Neill & Partners Confirmed dead, World Trade Center, at/in building

12 responses

  1. i heard it on the radio on the way home from work.
    it was darryn scott on 5fm and at first i was convinced he was playing some kind of prank.
    i was on my way to a mall for some groceries and i dashed into a friends shop where i knew there was a tv yelling for them to switch it on. the whole shop came to a standstill as we all stood thee watching with our eyes like saucers.
    it was very surreal…

    September 10, 2006 at 11:12 pm

  2. Thanks for sharing your memories of that awful day and of the tribute for John Robinson Lenoir.

    September 10, 2006 at 11:33 pm

  3. my heart breaks when i think of all the children who lost a parent that day

    i am honouring Joseph Maffeo

    September 11, 2006 at 4:32 am

  4. The whole September 11 thing makes me cry INSTANTLY.

    September 11, 2006 at 6:33 am

  5. I was there 3 years later, and it was heartbreaking.

    September 11, 2006 at 12:39 pm

  6. I was at work (7 months pregnant), we listened on the radio. At first I thought it was a small plane that had hit Trade Centre (that place like Makro). Then it dawned how much more serious it was. I logged onto my pregnancy discussion board and was getting live updates from ladies who lived within visual distance from the towers. The horror was tangible as they posted about what they saw as it happened. It was strange.

    DH was at a microsoft conference at Sun City and I phoned him to tell him – they had not heard anything yet and he had JUST won a trip to the states!

    I stayed awake almost through the night that night watching all the footage and trying to figure out what was going to happen.

    I remember thinking most about the pregnant woman, and the children who never got collected from school that day…

    September 11, 2006 at 1:12 pm

  7. Wonderful tribute. I linked to this post on my blog today.

    September 11, 2006 at 5:10 pm

  8. I still remember that day so vividly. Thank you for your beautiful tribute.

    September 11, 2006 at 9:24 pm

  9. It’s such a horrible thing that not only rocked our nation, but the whole world.

    September 11, 2006 at 10:05 pm

  10. That was beautiful Mel, and sad . . .

    I was living in Washington D.C. at the time and you could see the Pentagon burning from the highway. So awful. I knew people in NYC who say people jumping from the Twin Towers. It breaks my heart.

    September 12, 2006 at 7:19 am

  11. Steve

    Thank you for the tribute. As painful as it is to remember 9-11, we can not afford to forget it.

    Rob Lenoir was one of my best friends. While he and his family lived in New York, Rob was raised in Columbia, SC. After his death, several of us raised money and had a memorial constructed next to the football field at the high school we all attended (Rob was an All-State football player). The memorial includes a flagpole, bronze plaque, a knee-high circular brick wall and twin brick pillars (depicting the World Trade Center towers). I spent some time yesterday morning at Rob’s memorial, sitting beneath the flag flying at half-staff, head bowed in prayer and contemplation. At exactly 8:46 AM, head still bowed, I heard the guns at Fort Jackson (a nearby army base) fire a 21-gun salute in honor of the 9-11 victims.

    I can’t believe it has been five years. I can’t believe how much hate there is in this world. And I still can’t believe my friend is gone.

    September 12, 2006 at 4:34 pm

  12. Wonderful Tribute!
    Thank you.
    These are heartbreaking stories and difficult to read….
    I am honored to be a part of this project.
    Mine is posted also…

    Bless you…

    The ultimate measure of a man is not where he stands in moments of comfort, but where he stands at times of challenge and controversy.
    ~Martin Luther King, Jr.

    September 12, 2006 at 10:11 pm

Leave a Reply

