Super Mom

Nursing no more

Zander has weaned himself. It is very very bittersweet as all breastfeeding moms will know. It’s a relationship, a bond that is only shared by mom and baby. No-one but they can have that. Be that close. Share that bond. It is so much more than just providing nourishment. So much more.
I clearly remember the first time he nursed in hospital. He latched on as though he has practised for that precise moment all of those 9 months before. (I get a kick out of that as it was the 3rd time my kids didn’t battle to latch on and it is said that c-section babies do)
p1142986.gif

I had planned on letting him self-wean but also didn’t want it to go beyond the age of two. I’m glad he did this all by himself. Absolutely no pressure from me. I’m going to miss nursing him though. I’m going to miss being able to look at his sweet face as he nurses and then falls asleep.
There is something special about nursing a toddler too. They are so active, so beyond busy and restless. They tantrum so easily, yet they turn into these sweet little relaxed angels when they nurse.
img_7697.gif

I am so honoured to have been able to share this with Zander….with all my boys. I am extremely pro-breastfeeding. I have never nursed my child under a blanket. I have never nursed my child in a public toilet. I nursed wherever and whenever they needed to be nursed. I’m going to miss that. I’m going to miss not having a baby. Never having a baby to nurse again.

11 responses

  1. Ash

    I really empathise. It’s especially sad when it’s the last one. I had six years of breastfeeding and I missed it when Joe finally stopped (at 4!)

    August 12, 2007 at 8:44 pm

  2. Oh that is so sweet. It brought back memories. I remember when I had to supplement my last/5th child. She weaned herself at 5 months. I remember wishing I could have at least known when the last time was so I could have cherished it more. You expressed the bittersweetness so well.

    September 28, 2007 at 11:09 pm

  3. Oh, I feel the same exact way! I nursed both of the boys well over a year and was so sad when it was over. It’s such a wonderful bond between a mother and baby and nothing could take the place of that. Way to go for nursing him for so long!

    September 29, 2007 at 3:08 am

  4. good for you, Mel. I know what you mean about the relaxation children go through as they nurse.. love it!!

    September 29, 2007 at 8:07 am

  5. Marié

    I still remember to this day how I felt when I had to stop nursing you. It is such a bonding time for Mom and baby.

    September 29, 2007 at 8:25 am

  6. Mel Dad

    Well said Ouma dear.

    September 29, 2007 at 5:19 pm

  7. my3boysandi

    good on you for nursing as long as this
    and good on you for nursing wherever and whenever
    HUGS

    September 30, 2007 at 1:22 am

  8. Got to your site via Mayberry – I have a 4 month old and nursing is going so.very.well. Words can’t describe the bond while nursing, can they? Good for you for going so long. I’ll never forget going to a work training when mine was 2 months – my Mom (sweet sweet Mom) was watching the baby, and she brought her TO ME so I could nurse. Did I go to the bathroom? No. Did I leave the ROOM? NOPE. I sat in the back and nursed away – I told my friends I felt like I was throwing up my fist for breastfeeding mommies everywhere!!!

    September 30, 2007 at 4:39 am

  9. Oh I remember that sadness. I never had the milk supply to sustain longer than 9-10 months of nursing. My friends could have supported a school milk program with their breasts! And good for you for having nursing pictures. I always wanted to have a picture from my perspective looking down at the baby so I could stare at it later. It is an amazing thing. My first born took two weeks to get the hang of it. My second–same as Zander–came out ready to go even though I couldn’t see him for about 5 hours after the birth. I was Diabetic with him and they monitored his blood sugar in the nursery. But amazingly, he latched right away. Must be a guy thing. Feeling sad with you all the way on this side of the world. Powerful stuff this motherhood.

    September 30, 2007 at 6:38 am

  10. Well done Mel you did GREAT!

    The issue with Caesarean babies and breastfeeding is if they aren’t offered the breast in the first (golden) hour. Does happen with vaginally born babies too, but they are generally given to mom sooner than Caesarean babies. The sucking reflex is strongest in that first hour. After that baby may get tired and uncoordinated. Then there is also the issue of no huge oxytocin surge with a Caesarean, which you have with a vaginal birth. Both added together means that there is more likely to be an issue with Caesarean babies, but it’s not a given at all. Especially if you know about the above and act accordingly.

    *hugs*
    J

    October 1, 2007 at 8:36 am

  11. i breastfed damien for 7 months and only stopped when i started working full day. it did him and i the world of good!

    October 1, 2007 at 7:02 pm

Leave a Reply

