Super Mom

Letters to God

I battle to understand Afrikaans churches.  I feel like you have to pay them money in return for being called a Christian.  They send people to your house to collect money.  Every month. 

We haven’t been to church for way over a year, yet they still come to our house every month.  Have they not realized that we don’t go there?  What are we paying for if they don’t even realize we aren’t there?

Yesterday our church collector would have come to get our pay-off money.  I told Tommie that I can’t be a hypocrite like that and won’t sit there talking nonsense when in reality I don’t even go to church.  However, she never arrived!  She phoned and told us to go to her house to give her the monies!!!!  Oh boy – I don’t get that.

I don’t mind giving money to worthy organizations.  I don’t mind giving money to church.  I don’t.  I just don’t want to be made to feel as though I have to.  That it’s demanded of me or else I won’t see the inside of heaven.  I feel church is a business (a great concept to be used to help people give their lives to God.  To praise together)  Yet…it is a business.  We pay for a service.   What am I paying for though if I don’t even go?

Anyway – let me rather share these cute letters of children writing to God.

 

10 responses

  1. Love the Dear God notes, especially Joyce’s.

    Mike
    http://somethingaboutparenting.typepad.com/

    http://www.mikeleonen.com/

    October 4, 2007 at 7:54 pm

  2. my3boysandi

    upon reading your first paragraph that would really put me off
    and it sounds cultish

    sometimes I dont even tithe
    cant afford to
    but I do help in time with helping at the youth group
    Oh!!! and I pay a small amount each week to help this wee little girl http://aria.org.nz/

    Have you told them you dont go anymore???

    What happens if you dont pay???

    You go to heaven if you really truly believe
    you dont have to pay for it
    we cant pay in anyway
    what Jesus did cant be paid for us in any way
    It was a gift

    Church shouldnt feel like a business and its sad if thats how it makes you feel
    yet totally understandable if thats the way church is where you live

    like those letters cute and they made me 🙂

    October 4, 2007 at 10:33 pm

  3. I would definitely tell them that you don’t go anymore. Being a good person will entrust that you get into heaven not how much money you gave at church. My father always told us that it is just as important what you do outside the walls of church as you do inside. Give money if it feels good but do it because you want to not becuase you feel you have to.

    October 5, 2007 at 1:53 am

  4. You know, it sounds like somewhere along the way, the church forgot that the money is a gift and not an entitlement.

    Sounds like an attitude reset is in order. You don’t get to ask for gifts. You don’t get to expect them. They are simply given and received.

    October 5, 2007 at 3:31 am

  5. i don’t like the way they are doing it there either. churches shouldn’t be collecting money just like taxes are being collected – seems very compulsory. and yeah, it appears like a business. people should give something out of their willingness; from their hearts; it shouldn’t be that they are compelled to. it makes offering appear like a payment of a monthly due.

    October 5, 2007 at 4:52 am

  6. OMG I can’t believe the audacity of the church to just turn up and get money? Let alone phone you and tell you to go to them!?? What are you going to do – tell them you don’t go anymore – and therefore not pay anymore? I generally believe in a higher power, God even, but I think that churches have got it wrong somehow – too man made.

    October 5, 2007 at 7:06 am

  7. Love the “Dear God” notes … reminds me of the innonce of the child.

    October 5, 2007 at 10:21 am

  8. somayya

    😦 I know the feeling of being used. Tithe is good but it should come from the heart.
    Love your dear God notes!!!!

    October 5, 2007 at 12:31 pm

  9. And I thought they were pushy around here, but it’s nothing like that!

    October 6, 2007 at 2:40 am

  10. aaaaaaalrighty then… i reckon they should be contacting you to ask why you haven’t been rather than collecting their monthly stipend! sheezzz…

    October 8, 2007 at 7:04 pm

Leave a Reply

