Super Mom

How you talk

I wonder if we shouldn’t sit back more often and think how and what we say during the day affect those around us.

I had clients this afternoon.  Two sisters.  The one (older sister) has taken it upon herself to take over her sister’s finances.  The younger sister is my client and while she really doesn’t have a clue as to her finances, she does try.  She does come to me as often as possible and we work out where she stands.  I don’t think she fully understands what we discuss but she sure gives it a try. 

The older sister though feels that she doesn’t know enough of what is going on accounting wise and wants to control take over that side.  I think it’s great that she wants to help…but in all reality don’t think she wants to.  She came across as a bitch controlling and humiliating my client.  Trying to tell her that she is an immature 30 year old. In front of her accountant?

I felt so badly for my client.  I could see in her eyes how embarrassed she was even though she was trying to ‘hide’ by being witty and loud.  Eyes are the window to the soul right?  Saw right through her.

While what her sister wants to do is a good thing, she is going about this completely wrong and will only cause her sister to feel useless and under control of another.  She has her own business but I’m pretty sure she will now feel as though she is working for another.  Not just working for another but that person also wants to run her personal expenses?! 

Is not proper that.  Treating someone like they are less.

I always say: do the right thing, that’s great. But if you do it in the wrong tone of voice, it won’t be the right thing anymore.

3 responses

  1. So so so true, Melany. You have to take a step back and see what your own intentions are. Wearing a mask and riding your “high horse” will fool many around you…

    October 9, 2007 at 2:15 am

  2. somayya

    I can Identify with the situation and its a tough one for the young lady to get out of?
    Esspecially for you to witness. I would never treat my sister like that no matter how much I feel that it is her call to make.

    October 9, 2007 at 11:14 am

  3. That is too bad. I hope the younger sister realizes and is able to take over her finances herself. If the older sister tells the younger one all the time that is an immature 30 year old then she is going to start believing it if she doesn’t already.

    October 10, 2007 at 12:33 am

Leave a Reply

