Super Mom

Over worked and under papers

That’s what it should say.  Not over worked and under paid.  Over worked and under papers.  This is just one tiny spot on my desk.

0017.gif

And it keeps on growing.  Is like weed or something. Then I have this heap of files and papers and maybe even a cat with her babies on the floor behind me.  This is not because I can’t keep my office neat (that would just not be proper) but I don’t have place to put all the heaps of stuff that keeps on coming in to my office.  By ‘stuff’ I don’t mean the clients.

I think I may be drowning in paper.  Is that even possible?  Then we don’t have a maid at work/my folks house.  Which means that my most amazing mother (who has the most patience I have ever seen with little monsters kids) is all alone in the house with my many children.  Extra stress for me there.  I work and feel guilty cause I’m not helping out.  I help out and feel guilty and stressed because my work is just piling up.

Tonight with me having PMS and my husband having a bit of PMS (Pissy man syndrome) himself, I just realized that having a penis comes with privileges.

  • You go to work.
  • The kids are not your problem and will most probably not be when you get home.  You don’t care if the nanny isn’t there.  You don’t care if they need to go to extra classes.  You don’t care if they need to be fetched even if you have a client in front of you who won’t leave. You don’t care if they need to go to the doctor and you don’t really have the time.
  • You get home and your knee is sore.  Okay.  So a bit of a couch for you.
  • Your wife makes you coffees.
  • Your wife sits and does homework with YOUR son and that is only finished at 7 pm.
  • Your knee is still sore so more of the couch for you.
  • Your wife makes food since she can’t send the kids to bed without.
  • While making food she baths and dresses the littlest baby.
  • She goes back and works while you do more couch lying.

No offer of coffees.  No offers for help.  No.  Couch.

I tell you.  Having a penis comes with privileges.  You only do things when you feel like it and then you expect to be thanked for it. 

 This is not directed at all men, since according to Wenchy not all men are dogs.  Some are pigs.  Don’t take this personally.  I’m tired.  My back is sore.  Everything IS my job and I don’t get thanked for it.  I have PMS and a sick baby – again.  So.  Relax.  I’m not directing this at you.  Just getting it off my chest.  Tomorrow I may love all men in general again…who knows.

12 responses

  1. don’t you hate that guilty feeling. And that’s a pretty big stack of paper, I’d hate to see the whole desk.

    October 12, 2007 at 2:47 am

  2. ah…taihen!

    i find truth in this entry. it’s just different. a lot of things are expected to be done by a wife… not so, by a husband. they can help when they want, the wife has no choice, because when you talk about all those things to be done (mentioned), the wife comes first to mind. it seems to be the wife’s responsibility/ies. well, not everyone…but, i guess, in general…

    we gotta change this routine and way of thinking. i got to agree with my partner (someday) about this. this is really a headache. we should share responsibilities.

    October 12, 2007 at 3:03 am

  3. LOL, hugs to you Melanie…does chocolate help????

    October 12, 2007 at 7:01 am

  4. You forgot about the one other priviledge … Undivided attention when the light go out!!!

    {{{HUGS}}}I know you will manage, but I hope you feel better today.

    October 12, 2007 at 9:34 am

  5. somayya

    Hugs and kisses!!! Be strong!!! Its the life we woman HAVE to live!!!!!! Until he realises that he needs to share the load !!!!! {{{{Hugs}}}}}

    October 12, 2007 at 11:54 am

  6. SIL

    I wish men could see life as we see it, then maybe just maybe the offers to help will start appearing. Good luck with all the rest of your papers.

    October 12, 2007 at 12:03 pm

  7. Just remember most men (not all) would starve and not be able to reproduce without us!

    October 12, 2007 at 3:29 pm

  8. I love this post, because last weekend I could so totally relate!

    Here’s hoping today is better for you Melany!

    October 12, 2007 at 5:54 pm

  9. Wow this makes me appreciate my hubby that much more. He helps a lot with much of this stuff at the moment. He has been out of the country this week so the load has been on me but usually:
    -He drops off one of the kids at school
    – Collects both from school (2 diff schools).
    – Fetches and carries to Friday extra murals.
    – Makes me coffee when I get home and more comes through the evening, cooks as often as I do.
    – Happily stays with kids wile I got to run, yoga or wherever.
    – Is fully supportive of my disappearing to doula at all times of the day or night too, even being my shoulder when I need to vent or cry etc.
    – Does lots of the day to day shopping etc.
    – Does a lot of the communicating with our domestic since he has been working from a home office.

    He wasn’t always this way though, but it’s evolved over time and I must say he is not guilty of any of what you have mentioned and I must show him more appreciation when he gets home, because I feel it when he’s away!

    Hugs and I hope you get Tommie trained better soon. Tell him to come to Rich for lessons on how to have a content wife 🙂

    Jane

    October 12, 2007 at 8:25 pm

  10. Wenchy

    I will smack u with a stick the day you say all men are wonderful.

    October 13, 2007 at 9:28 pm

  11. I hope your man cleans up his act sooner! and I hope your sons do think about their wives when they get married.

    October 15, 2007 at 12:23 pm

  12. I just wanted to say WOW!

    February 2, 2008 at 9:17 am

Leave a Reply

