Super Mom

Stop complaining and do it

Last year my dad and (on a much smaller scale) I coached the bakers cricket teams at school.  Bakers cricket is basically the Grade R to Grade 2 kids.  We realized very quickly that parents love standing next to the field and watch you do the work.

We felt real bad when we couldn’t help out with the cricket this year due to the tax forms being sent out so late this year and us still being busy with tax returns.  One of the ladies that helped out last year took all the responsibility on herself this year.  She broke her ankle a couple of weeks ago but still she took it all on herself, with only some help from one or two other parents.

Today the kids played in two teams and she stayed with the younger kids.  I ‘kinda’ by default followed the bigger kids because I was taking photos of Quintus. 

Since none of the other parents were anywhere near the game, I got involved and helped out where I could.

My dad came around to give Quintus some support just about when our team started doing field work.  My dad and I decided on a way to set up the fielding to let everyone get a chance to bowl and do wicket keeping without being left out.

As I walked off the field one of the dad’s walked up to me :

Him:  Why did you do put the fielders out the way you did?

Me:  I don’t know much about cricket, so I just followed the other coach and this way all the kids get to play in all the positions.

Him:  Well our best fielders are all on the wrong side of the batters.

Me:  Like I say.  It won’t stay that way.  The kids rotate so within the first couple of overs, these kids will be on that side.

Him:  Well, I would have done it completely differently.

I just nearly lost it.  I told him to stop sitting on his ass next to the field and complain if something is not the way he wants it to be.  He must either get up and coach these kids as they clearly need some coaches, or he must shut the fuck up.

And I haven’t even sworn in such a long time.  It was worth breaking my swear silence on him though.  Fuckwit.

16 responses

  1. mybloggylife

    What focus he shows in that pic!! Love it!

    October 13, 2007 at 6:03 pm

  2. Wenchy

    Royal fuckwit for him… or fuckwit of the day? (much like soup of the day, or potatoes of the night lol)

    October 13, 2007 at 9:29 pm

  3. Kim

    Good for you, dammit!!! 😉 Seriously, it’s the same everywhere!!! People always happy to give their two cents, while sitting back doing NOTHING! I feel your irritation!

    October 13, 2007 at 11:43 pm

  4. What an idiot!! I hate knowitalls that don’t lift a finger to help!

    October 13, 2007 at 11:45 pm

  5. Good for you telling him to go where the sun don’t shine. Growing up my dad would travel sometimes 6 hours to see my games (in college) and drive back the same day. He was always a great supporter. I try to be a part of my kids life much like yourself and it is a shame when other parents take so easily to find fault with others.

    October 14, 2007 at 2:26 am

  6. Oh forgot… Awesome picture of the face of concentration!

    October 14, 2007 at 2:28 am

  7. my3boysandi

    good on u
    i agree with u
    at least you helped
    he didnt!!!

    October 14, 2007 at 5:32 am

  8. Awesome, good for you. That drives me crazy. Me, I sit on the sideline and take photos, but I have enough sense to keep my mouth shut until the game is over, then thank the coach. One day I hope things line up where I can coach when Ben is playing, not that I know anything about their sports, but I’d like to help. I’ve got total respect for the parents that coach. And even though they don’t do it, I think they should play their kids in the best positions all the time. If somebody doesn’t like it, they can coach.

    October 14, 2007 at 6:18 am

  9. Marié

    That was a long time coming Mel glad you did that xx

    October 14, 2007 at 7:40 am

  10. MelDad

    And I thought he said he was going to come and help? The a—h–e. And that picture with the two boys – amazing. Someone remarked on cricket balls and bare feet – the Bakers cricket lets the kids use semi-hard balls so no danger there.

    October 14, 2007 at 10:29 am

  11. ITA good for you.

    Q seems to have a serious sporty streak hey? Really focused, dedicated and driven. It’s awesome!

    October 14, 2007 at 11:15 am

  12. I love looking in to your comments and family and picture are wonderful .. ice

    October 15, 2007 at 1:39 am

  13. well done!

    October 15, 2007 at 2:32 am

  14. Krystal

    That was AWESOME!!

    October 15, 2007 at 3:46 pm

  15. bravo supermom! so did he actually get up to help the coach!!?!

    October 15, 2007 at 9:34 pm

  16. If you’ve got to swear, may as well do it right!

    October 16, 2007 at 5:37 am

Leave a Reply

