Super Mom

The crazy world of parenting

I have three boys.  Now it is a well known fact that boys are loud.  Boys are busy.  Boys shout rather than talk.  They run rather than walk.  The fight of the enemy rather than play quietly.  Is a boy thing that.  Not good or bad.  Just the way boys are.

I have three of those.  Busy.  Loud.  Running.  Shouting.  Enemy fighting.  Boys. 

I love these little guys to bits.  Absolutely bits.  Even when I want to duct tape them to a wall

When we are at home and they have the freedom to run and do their thing they don’t drive me insane will keep themselves busy and I mostly don’t need to keep them from killing each other intervene.  They are really good friends and probably get along better than most friends do and definitely better than most brothers do.   I don’t feel as though I need earplugs and I feel our home is safe from being broken down.

However.  Add any adult to this picture and there is chaos.  I mean literally chaos.  Shouting to the extreme.  Hitting.  Running into people.  Tantrums.  Acting completely out of the ordinary.  It sounds like the tower of Babel just worse.  C.H.A.O.S.  I feel overwhelmed by all the noise.  If I could find a cave I would hide in there until things return to normal.

I don’t get it.  Here I am.  Lying on my bed. It is quiet.  Peaceful.  I can even hear the birds chirping.  I promise you if someone had to stop here now the chaos would return.

I am sure that when my brother and SIL leave our house they are seriously wonder how we keep sane.  We do though….as sanity returns when it’s just us five.

Last night after the rugby and everyone had left, we all got onto the bed.  We were reading and talking and it was just so relaxing.  It’s like yin and yang.

4 responses

  1. my3boysandi

    Mr Wonderful took the boys over night while I got some stuff done
    which I couldnt do without a certain Little Man being nosy
    I missed them just over night
    I missed the boys being boys
    but I am thankful to Mr Wonderful 🙂

    October 28, 2007 at 8:39 pm

  2. MelDad

    I just wonder if it is not because kids realise that when visitors are there, the normal ‘eye keeping check on the discipline’ is now split between them and the visitors. They also want to show off to the visitors at the same time which also gives them attention. That is why the ‘ou mense’ used to to say kids should be seen and not heard i.e. go play far away where the noise is less! Even when there was a fight beween us children/ nieces/ nephews we soon learned not to tell stories as evry child, every time, got a hiding if a story was told. My nieces and nephews’s parents could never believe how good their children were when the visited at our house! The only one who give a sympathetic ear was my Mom. Once she said to Auntie Barbara “Ag, I am sure he didn’t do it on purpose” when she complained about me hurting her. Auntie Barbara’s answer: “Of course he didn’t do it on purpose you big baboon, he did it on me!”

    October 29, 2007 at 5:40 am

  3. They are probably trying to fight for attention. My boys are always trying to be the center of attention when “guests” are around. Love the duct tape comment! ~Karlie

    October 29, 2007 at 6:00 am

  4. I find that when others come to my house things get pretty exciting for the kids and that’s when all breaks lose.

    October 29, 2007 at 8:16 pm

Leave a Reply

