Super Mom

Monies

I had a client here this morning.  He was too lazy to keep lost his travelling log book and therefore couldn’t claim all his business kilometers.  We had to use the formula as supplied by SARS. 

Had he been able to submit a logbook, he would have had a tax refund of R22 000.  Since he ‘lost’ his though he will only get a refund of R900.  Now there is nothing stopping him from going through his records and doing the logbook now.  He has the means and the ways.  However he is too lazy doesn’t have the time?  Oh my goodness!

Then right after I saw him I saw an older client who has to pay in R11 000.  He had such a look of defeat on his face.  Is just not right.  Then this poor old Oomie (man) reversed into one of our other clients as he left. 

Some days one just shouldn’t get out of bed.

6 responses

  1. rainbowfudge

    Too lazy for R22000…dang! I’ll do his log book for him!! Do you see that kind of thing often? I can’t imagine not wanting to do it – I mean for that kind of money – that’s a new computer with all the bells and whistles, or a good investment for kids education etc. I dunno, I just don’t get it… oh and btw, I’m back at wordpress – rainbowfudge.wordpress.com ok?

    October 30, 2007 at 6:23 am

  2. I remember getting good returns for travel expenses, but that was back in the good days when I earned a descent salary!!!! This year tax return was done in a jeiffy – not much to report on!!! Isn’t there rebates for being a “full-time” parent?

    October 30, 2007 at 8:02 am

  3. somayya

    What a day!!!! Lots of hugs>>><<<<<

    October 30, 2007 at 9:25 am

  4. Hey, I think I should get you to do my tax return, as long as you say I am getting R22k back, not paying R11k IN!

    Seriously though I have a few questions, which I am still formulating – I am an eFiling so I do have time. And since I am tax consultant-less for the past year I think I need a bit of help.

    Basically if you answer YES to the following question I may need to hire you. Can I claim ANY expenses if I have paid PAYE on income as a contractor? 😉

    TIA
    Jane

    October 30, 2007 at 3:00 pm

  5. Ugh, I hate when people are lazy and then put pressure on you. That is ridiculous. I could not do your job with a good attitude, I don’t know how you do it Mel.

    October 30, 2007 at 4:29 pm

  6. MelDad

    18h15 and Saunderson is STILL here!!!!! Talking on his cellphone outside!!!!!

    October 30, 2007 at 6:14 pm

Leave a Reply

