Super Mom

Jason’s family

This is our family as drawn by Jason yesterday.  Now psychologists love telling us that you can learn so much out of your child’s drawings. 

I looked at this yesterday and learned two important things:

1.  He is the guy wearing short pants.  Tommie We have been trying to get him to wear short pants.  It’s summer.  It’s hot.  Yet he demands to wear long pants and preferably jeans.  I think he was drawing himself with short pants because that’s what we want him to wear.  Maybe he only feels comfortable ‘wearing’ them in the drawing. 

2.  Zander is no where on that drawing.  Not even a tiny Zander.  He drew NO Zander.  This is very telling to me.  Lately he has been finding it really hard to cope with being the middle child or more specifically having a little brother who gets away with murder because everyone ‘babies’ him who doesn’t always understand.  I think in his ideal world it would only be him and Quintus at this stage.  I know this will pass. 

I just feel that this drawing makes it clear that we need to treat Zander like the almost 2 year old he is…old enough to know that he can’t get everything he wants and sees.  Also that we should ease up on the clothing issue.  If he wants to wear long pants in the summer then so be it.

8 responses

  1. my3boysandi

    I wear long pants all year round
    I dont like my legs
    you could get him some lightweight ones

    October 31, 2007 at 2:17 am

  2. Jackson has the opposite deal with his pants. I think you’ve done a very good job of analyzing the drawing. Of course, it’s pretty hard to miss the missing brother.

    October 31, 2007 at 2:39 am

  3. When is Jason’s birthday? I thinking if he’s an aquarian like me, it might explain a lot. I had SO many issues around clothes at his age. I barely wore shorts (something about ‘exposing’ my legs freaked me out) I NEVER wore skirts/dresses unless forced to (for church) and even then I used to kick up such a fuss, because it meant I would not be able to go on the jungle gym during ‘break’ and ‘after’, that eventually my mum gave up. Also refused to wear 2 piece bathing suits until I was at UNIVERSITY because I had a thing about having an ‘exposed’ stomach. Now I look back and think it’s funny, but I’m sure my mom was pretty confused back then too. I wouldn’t worry about the missing brother. Not sure if J is a perfectionist or what, but perhaps Zander was last on his list to draw, and he simply ran out of space when he got around to drawing him, and didn’t want to draw him ‘floating’ in the air, because that would be ‘wrong’. I’d be more worried about what he thinks of your hubby’s feet! (BIG and SCARY) ha ha. I actually took at class at uni called “child art analysis” it was part of my art teaching degree.

    October 31, 2007 at 6:30 am

  4. Marié

    I have to agree with Rainbowfudge Jason has often sat drawing with me and told me he ran out of space to draw Zander although I do agree with you Melany that we need to give Jason much more attention too. LOL at the feet

    October 31, 2007 at 7:14 am

  5. Kid’s drawings really say a lot! Maybe that morning Zander poked him so he let him disappear in the drawing!

    October 31, 2007 at 7:49 am

  6. Maybe he’s not sure where to put him on the picture? He’s also drawn himself bigger than Quintus. Lol about the shorts, he seems to have a very strong will.

    October 31, 2007 at 8:31 pm

  7. somayya

    Kids can reveal so much in us that we fear the most!!!!!

    November 1, 2007 at 8:56 am

  8. wow… very interesting mel… where do you start!?!

    November 5, 2007 at 8:09 pm

Leave a Reply

