Super Mom

I don’t feel well

What do you do when your child complains of stomach ache, headache, flu, filifilotus or ingrown toenail just to miss school.  When you are 87.3 % sure it’s a put on but you have that nagging 12.7 % that just maybe, just maybe they are not putting on.  When the mommy takes over from the sergeant major.

Mostly I know.  Mostly if I threaten them with death tell them that nagging won’t get them anywhere, they give in and go to school.  It takes a lot for me to allow my kids to stay home.  I have even been known to drop them off later during the day if I find them lying about being sick.  Okay that has only happened once but they know that I will if I am convinced they aren’t really sick.

Today Quintus says he is feeling sick.  Nauseous.  I’m not in his body so I can’t know for sure if he is or not. Today I allowed him to stay home.  Best he lies in bed all day long and feel sick I hope he feels better soon.

8 responses

  1. lvjensen75

    I sure hope that he feels better. My MIL would make her kids go to school at ALL TIMES ~ only exceptions were throwing up and bleeding, LOL! 🙂 I hope that nothing’s wrong with Quintus and that he’ll feel better very soon.

    November 5, 2007 at 6:14 pm

  2. It is a hard decision to make when you aren’t sure. The last time I let Walker stay home he took three naps that day. So I guess he truly wasn’t feeling well. Your gut instinct is usually right. Hope he feels better soon.

    November 5, 2007 at 6:24 pm

  3. oh thats tough mel… i’ve also been there a couple of times, and damien has once or twice really been sick…

    November 5, 2007 at 8:00 pm

  4. Hope he feels better soon (and that he was telling the truth). Bradley makes me feel so guilty about making him go to school some days… I hear you.

    November 5, 2007 at 9:37 pm

  5. Isis

    Hope he feels better soon. 🙂

    November 5, 2007 at 11:58 pm

  6. if he’s lying then, maybe he’s just tired and wanted to have a break…
    i think the same applies to working. even if we’re not sick, there are just times when we don’t feel like working.

    November 6, 2007 at 3:17 am

  7. SIL

    You are so right when you say that we don’t know what is going on in our childrens bodies. I person tries to teach them to be compassionate towards others so I suppose we have to show that same compassion to them ourselves. Hope he is not too sick.

    November 6, 2007 at 9:34 am

  8. Annie

    Having to get up, get dressed and be on time at school is preparing kids for real life. Sometimes you don’t feel very good, but you got to do what you got to do. I am by no means saying cause harm to any child, but I see my sister’s daughter getting away with it and I am very worried about the kind of grown up she will be one day. But that is just me, over protective aunt of a beautiful niece.

    November 6, 2007 at 8:42 pm

Leave a Reply

