Super Mom

Mamma

It’s the most amazing, special, touching first word to hear.  

However.  NOT when it’s the first word you hear in the morning after a rough night of little sleep.  NOT when that word is uttered because the little boy is looking for his favourite pants that he can’t find.  Those same pants he has to wear almost daily.  Not because there is blood or broken bones, just a lost pants

 I don’t sleep during the day.  I don’t.  I have the deep seated believe that there is a master plan against me that will not allow me to have afternoon sleep.  No catch up sleep for me.  This afternoon I was proven right again.

I lay down with Zander when he took his afternoon nap.  I had just fallen into that rhythmic, just before sleep, breathing when I hear him cough.  You know that cough that is going to turn into bomit within the next split second.  There is just nothing like being woken up by a vomiting child.

Tonight this mamma wants to sleep.  No vomiting baby.  No “mamma I cannot find my pants” while I’m still asleep.  Just goold old sleep. 

One can only live in hope right! 😉

7 responses

  1. There’s nothing worse than vomit! Hope you sleep well tonight.

    November 11, 2007 at 8:45 pm

  2. I hear ya on this one! Kadence is the only one who can actually say “mom!” but the other three sure know how to get my attention. Ah, to have an entire day where you didn’t have to run to vomiting children, find someones pants, or fix the VCR because it just ate the tape again. (Kadence still has some VHS’s, LOL. I can’t wait to be rid of it!)

    Just one day would be nice. But when they come to you and say, “Mommy, I love you”, or snuggle into you really closely, it makes those tough days all worth it.

    Still…one day off would be kinda nice. ;o)

    Kristi

    November 12, 2007 at 1:43 am

  3. I LOVE sleep, just never seem to get enough of it. I feel for you.

    November 12, 2007 at 1:47 am

  4. addictedtocoke

    Lol, as a mum of four I have to agree, being woken up by a vomitting child is not nice. If I’m asleep I get such a shock, my heart races! Then when one is ill, I have such a restless sleep, waiting till it hits the other three. Motherhood is not compatible with sleep.

    November 12, 2007 at 2:47 am

  5. Jen

    I hope you have a better nights sleep
    and Zander gets better real soon

    November 12, 2007 at 7:45 am

  6. Pingback: www.proveninsomniacure.info » Mamma

  7. Wenchy

    Hey babe. I never use to sleep in the afternoon (or during the night heheheheheh) then I got divorced and I now have NO sleep pattern at all. I can sleep, be awake anything at any hour so afternoon sleep now all of a sudden, ek kan dit doen! Funny thing is, I am sure Brian would have loved it if I was able to do it previously. Oh well, sorry – en so.

    PS. Bommitting is NOT sexy.

    November 12, 2007 at 11:14 am

Leave a Reply

