Super Mom

Tower of Babel

Last night I was reading the Bible to the boys – yes I read the Bible to the boy.  Quintus’s friend slept over here as well.  Afterwards they were trying to impress each other with the stories they knew even I was impressed that I knew most,

The friend spoke about the Tower of Babel and the people were trying to reach heaven that way.  Then how God didn’t approve and to stop them he made them speak different languages.  I joked and said that the Tower must have been built here in South Africa.  I mean we do have eleven official languages after all.  No wonder they couldn’t finish it.

The friend then chirped up and said – “Yes and then the put President Mbeki at the top”

6 responses

  1. my3boysandi

    sounds like an interesting time for all of you

    November 25, 2007 at 9:37 pm

  2. …and I thought Dubai is the modern Babel..with skyscrapers and a lot of people speaking different languages!

    Looked like fun times with you and your boys!

    November 26, 2007 at 8:33 am

  3. Any more, I feel like the near by city is the Tower of Babel. It’s such a mixture of cultures. It makes for great ethnic cuisine, but I can’t understand a word anyone is saying! ~Karlie

    November 26, 2007 at 9:22 am

  4. Good to hear from you again! I added you to my list of blogs to visit. I have been reading the bible to my kids also. But… sometimes it’s hard because I have to try and condense some stories. What do you do?

    November 26, 2007 at 9:16 pm

  5. LOL, what a funny comment. Eleven languages! Yes, that would make for difficulty in having a united front for the country.

    I so appreciate reading your blog and gaining a bit of understanding of what it is like to live in S. Africa.

    November 27, 2007 at 8:03 pm

  6. mwaaaaaahahahahahaaaaaa…

    November 27, 2007 at 9:16 pm

Leave a Reply

