Super Mom

Doing it the old way

Today I did something that I haven’t done at least 10 years. No not sex.

Something that I have been dreading for two months.

I actually did financial statements from first journal entry, right through to audited financial statements by hand. I mean I wrote every entry. Rewrote it into the hundreds of other journals and it all balanced at the end after many swear words and being impossible to work with

Trust me. This is huge. People don’t do that anymore! That’s why we have computers and accountant programs. So that we don’t have to worry about what must go where and in how many other journals it needs to go to balance and be correct. Eish. I couldn’t believe when these clients came to me with handwritten journal books.

I feel like maybe I should keep the books and frame them lol It’s a part of history that. I can’t believe I still remember how to do it that way lol

9 responses

  1. wow! it’s a thing done in the past…

    December 5, 2007 at 2:51 am

  2. Wenchy

    Ek weet nie of ons hierdie klient wil hou nie skattie

    December 5, 2007 at 8:23 am

  3. Geez, I dont know when last I saw journals and stuff – probably when I was still doing accounting at school.

    December 5, 2007 at 9:22 am

  4. be sure to tell them that that was the last time!! and charge them triple…

    December 5, 2007 at 9:40 am

  5. Wenchy

    Okay it is time to update this. I’ve read this already dammit.

    December 5, 2007 at 11:22 am

  6. Wenchy

    Nee my kind.. Ek se dan nou.

    December 5, 2007 at 3:40 pm

  7. This brings back all of my accounting courses in college! πŸ™‚ I love the new pictures! Beautiful!

    December 5, 2007 at 3:49 pm

  8. Addie

    I so hate acounting that I am not even impressed – sorry about that!!!!

    I DO LOVE THE NEW LOOK OF YOUR BLOG, though!!!!

    December 5, 2007 at 6:29 pm

  9. Yoh! That looks scary!

    Well done. It must have been kind of like me trying to do long division on paper….

    December 6, 2007 at 10:03 am

Leave a Reply

