Super Mom

Training wheels

Jason just reached another milestone today. One I am very proud of. We have removed his training wheels.

He has been getting closer and closer to being ready for this step. Tonight just seemed right. It just did. The first try, he fell within the first 1 metre. That was the last time he fell.

It’s amazing how just having me next to him gave him enough confidence to just keep going. For the longest time I ran up and down bare foot and in work clothes and then he just took off. Enough confidence to keep going without me running next to him.

Enough confidence to start standing while riding. To lift his front wheel!?

I’m so proud of my little guy.  Quintus took this video of his second try.

14 responses

  1. Wow. Makes me really nostalgic of my son. (Now is 19 with steady job, steady girlfriend, and a car.)

    December 13, 2007 at 10:14 pm

  2. Jason and his bike look so much like my son at that age! What a great milestone!

    December 14, 2007 at 12:27 am

  3. wow! to think i learned biking just this year. haha…

    December 14, 2007 at 1:43 am

  4. Well done Jason! I am getting Connor a bike for Christmas.

    PS: LOVE your skirt. Look how fanTy you are.

    December 14, 2007 at 7:27 am

  5. my3boysandi

    WTG Jason!!!!
    Boy he was going fast
    keep your on your toes Mel
    btw I do like your skirt and garden

    December 14, 2007 at 8:14 am

  6. Auw that is so great! And also love your skirt!

    December 14, 2007 at 11:59 am

  7. WOW – go Jay!

    December 14, 2007 at 1:53 pm

  8. jenty

    Fantastic!! That’s a huge milestone!
    You look fab btw running in the street 🙂

    December 14, 2007 at 3:28 pm

  9. Yeah Jason! That’s a big milestone. 🙂

    I had to say how much I love your skirt! You look great!

    December 14, 2007 at 5:27 pm

  10. Marié

    Way to go Jason Ouma is so PROUD of you

    xxx

    December 14, 2007 at 5:45 pm

  11. Yeah! The video is adorable!

    December 14, 2007 at 6:20 pm

  12. Alisa

    Way to go! He looked so proud as he was biking away.

    December 17, 2007 at 12:15 am

  13. That’s awesome! I was very impressed by the turn away from the gate. Congratulations.

    December 17, 2007 at 7:38 am

  14. Very cool. That’s a huge milestone. I just made that run back and forth with Jackson a few months ago, but he still can’t turn around and go back the other direction like Jason. Way to go! And like everyone else, the first thing that popped into my head when I saw the photo was “nice skirt.”

    December 18, 2007 at 7:03 am

Leave a Reply

