Super Mom

GPS

Yesterday I attended a funeral of a very special man.  The grandfather of my Wenchy.  I was glad to be able to be there to support my Stel (Wenchy) who is also very much a part of my own soul.

My maid never pitched up, I have many children and had no clue how to get there so I needed to get the GPS.  I left too late.  I phoned Stel to say that I will be arriving at 10:23 according to the GPS.  I arrived at 10:25.  Not bad.  Especially considering that I drove 12 km on a farm road that was more mud than road and then did a trip through a township.

Yes.  Township.  White women.  Blond hair.  Big white car.  Township.  Eish.

I made it just fine though and was there to hug the kids and Stel before the funeral.

Today the same GPS brought us to one of the most beautiful parts of our country.  Drakensberg.  The boys and I had such a lovely time doing sightseeing. 

They couldn’t get over the never ending mountains.  The Sterkfontein dam which according to Jason is the ‘old’ sea.  The sea before the sea we have now.  Clearly a big dam.The resort we are at is wonderful.  Not as big as those we normally go to but it has everything the boys love.  It would have been perfect if Tommie was here too.  Unfortunately he still has work to do and I’m hoping he will join us on Friday.

12 responses

  1. jenty

    Oh wow, that’s an awesome photo!! Hope Tommie joins you soon.
    Glad you got to the funeral on time.

    December 19, 2007 at 9:47 pm

  2. my3boysandi

    wonderful looking place
    relax and enjoy
    bless you for supporting your friend

    December 19, 2007 at 10:21 pm

  3. the photo is incredible…wow.

    December 19, 2007 at 10:48 pm

  4. BTW, love it that the “or not” is scratched through on the header now! Usually I read this on my RSS, so if you updated a long time ago–sorry. I just now saw it.

    December 19, 2007 at 10:49 pm

  5. melsmunchkins

    So sorry to hear of Wenchy’s loss.

    Great pic of the boys! Looks like a beautiful place.

    December 20, 2007 at 4:39 am

  6. somayya

    Must be wonderful place to visit this time of the year …………

    December 20, 2007 at 7:28 am

  7. The things that come out of J’s mouth fascinate me utterly. That kid Mel, seriously – wow! I would be really interested to hear about some of his past lives because this kid KNOWS STUFF. Like amazing secrets of the Universe stuff. 🙂 Sure maybe it’s a dam, but maybe he’s remembering something from long ago – from way before he was born, like, um you know what I mean? Sort of? Without freaking you out about my weird ideas?

    December 20, 2007 at 7:41 am

  8. That picture is perfection.

    December 20, 2007 at 9:57 am

  9. I cannot do without my GPS/Sat Nav in London either.

    Those views are just amazing!

    December 20, 2007 at 11:27 am

  10. Hope you all have a WONDERFUL time.

    December 20, 2007 at 12:04 pm

  11. Wenchy

    Miss you

    December 20, 2007 at 1:39 pm

  12. Stunning photo, enjy the break.

    Sorry but I’m tagging Jason for a Meme, I usually hate these things but this one is cute:
    http://janewsblog.blogspot.com/2007/12/weve-been-tagged-8-things-usus.html

    December 20, 2007 at 6:53 pm

Leave a Reply

