Super Mom

Happy holidays

At first it really bothered me when people said Happy Holidays instead of Merry Christmas.  This holiday is because of the birth of Christ and I felt that one should at least acknowledge it by the words Merry Christmas.

Thing is though.  Each to their own.  Really.  If you don’t want to celebrate Christmas and instead just want to celebrate uhm…getting presents the holidays then that is your choice. 

What I don’t get is why the presents are then still given on Christmas day / Eve.  Why not randomly give it whenever?  Why the day that is celebrated as Christ’s birthday?  Why send messages and cards if it is just another holiday?  I’m by no means saying it is wrong to do so, I just wonder why.   Why celebrate that specific day?  Just because Hallmark is making money out of the day?

Like I say though – each to their own. 

I hope you had a special Christmas or that you are having a happy holiday.

9 responses

  1. FV

    I started saying Happy Holidays here in the US because it is more “politically” correct. We have ever single celebration from Hanukkah,Kwanzaa, etc, and saying Merry Christmas was initially offensive to those who celebrated something similar to Christmas but a bit different.

    To mean the meaning of Christmas is about hope and love. As long as they have that in their hearts I can totally handle Happy Holidays, Peace and Joy, and all that jazz. HAHA 🙂

    So, I say to you my friend Happy Holidays, Merry Christmas, Peace & Joy, & all that jazz. :0)

    December 27, 2007 at 5:10 pm

  2. I think political correctness goes a bit too far at times, but I have many friends who are of different religions and they all have some sort of holiday around this time. So while we celebrate Christmas, not all those that I love do- so we choose to say Happy Holidays most of the time to encompass all of our loved one’s beliefs. But I do say Merry Christmas to those who I know have similar beliefs.

    December 27, 2007 at 5:12 pm

  3. Er you do know that the 25th of December was a pagan (and other)celebration day FIRST right? The Christian church absorbed the day and rebranded it so to speak.

    Nearly every main religious has a significant festival or even around the days of ‘Christmas’ and so I think it is very apt to be inclusive of all and say ‘Happy Holidays’. In fact I have started doing it now. It includes the Jews with their Hannuka, the Moslems with their recent Eid, the Pagan Yule (Litha in the Summer Hemisphere, being midsummer and not winter) etc etc

    Interestingly it is believed that Jesus wasn’t even born in December at all.

    “In Rome December 25 was made popular by Pope Liberius in 354 and became the rule in the West in 435 when the first “Christ mass” was officiated by Pope Sixtus III. This coincided with the date of a celebration by the Romans to their primary god, the Sun, and to Mithras, a popular Persian sun god supposedly born on the same day. The Roman Catholic writer Mario Righetti candidly admits that, “to facilitate the acceptance of the faith by the pagan masses, the Church of Rome found it convenient to institute the 25th of December as the feast of the birth of Christ to divert them from the pagan feast, celebrated on the same day in honor of the ‘Invincible Sun’ Mithras, the conqueror of darkness” (Manual of Liturgical History, 1955, Vol. 2, p. 67).”

    Anyway HAPPY HOLIDAYS! 😉

    December 27, 2007 at 5:30 pm

  4. Wenchy

    You know I don’t do god related anything however, I have no problem saying Merry Christmas, nor Happy Holidays and anyone and everyone is welcome to ALWAYS give me gifts!! 🙂

    Yay!

    December 27, 2007 at 6:36 pm

  5. Maybe my wording is wrong. I meant the day of the 25th when people send messages and cards and open gifts. Why on THAT day do people send messages that says happy holidays. Why not then on the 15th or 29th. Why send a message saying happy holidays or something like that on the that Christ’s birth is celebrated if the day has no real special meaning to you. Just interesting to me. Like I said. Each to their own.

    December 27, 2007 at 9:32 pm

  6. my3boysandi

    I agree this is a VERY IMPORTANT time of the year

    at church the other day in amongst the children’s story one of the leaders said that we reason we give presents is because the wise men gave presents to Jesus when he was born
    I like to take that a step further and say that the greatest present we could ever receive though was given by Jesus himself
    Blessings to you and your family

    December 28, 2007 at 1:04 am

  7. I have friends who have taken the commercialness out of Christmas with their kids. They have always said – if Jesus was only given 3 gifts – our kids certianly don’t need anymore than that either! I LOVE that way of thinking.

    Also – the whole gift giving thing just stinks when you’re trying to find just the right gift. I do gifts throughout the year and maybe something small at Christmas. If I find something I know a person would like and could use – I get it and give it to them “Just because” – nothing big on birthdays or Christmas…

    December 28, 2007 at 5:49 pm

  8. to each his own indeed… i hope your christmas was spectacular and your new years celebrations will be exciting and fun as well as safe!!!

    December 31, 2007 at 5:37 pm

  9. I think “happy holidays” carries with it a hidden agenda in singling out one holiday for generic treatment. …sort of like “take that” with a smile. I recommend the following post, which I enjoyed: http://deligentia.wordpress.com/2009/11/29/happy-holidays-as-a-weapon/

    December 1, 2009 at 3:20 am

Leave a Reply

