Super Mom

First day of school

Judging from this photo you would think that Quintus was excited about going to school and Jason very unsure. Actually it was just the opposite. Jason was extremely excited and thought that sitting down to take a photo was just wasting precious time that he could have been at school already. Quintus was hoping that we would spend hours taking this photo.

Quintus was up most of the night.  Just like when he went to Grade R for the first time. He was so nervous. Worried. He had headaches. Tummy aches. He was up before 5 am already this morning. He couldn’t believe that I was sending him to school even though he wasn’t really feeling well. My heart went out to my oldest boy. I know why he is stressed and there is nothing I can do to prevent it. I cannot wrap him up in a cotton ball for the rest of his life. Lots more I can write about this and will need to leave it for another post. Just accept that since they are still at school and I have no idea how he coped this first day, I have found it very difficult to concentrate on work.

Jason on the other hand. Oh my word. Self-confidence galore. He walked in there as though he owned the class lol There was this one little boy who was SO upset. I asked Jason to take him and play with him. Jason was SO sweet with him. I am sure that when I go to pick Jay up now, he will be full of smiles and stories.

14 responses

  1. Gen

    My two were very excited and we were at school bright and early. (I know this kind of excitement is only going to last for at least another day, then it is back to nagging them to get up and get dressed – lol). Poor Q, why was he so nervous or anxious about going to school? Jason looks very cute btw!!

    January 9, 2008 at 1:20 pm

  2. ah shame… stuff like that can break a mother’s heart i tell you!!! stay strong, he’ll be fine!

    January 9, 2008 at 1:33 pm

  3. How the first day back went well! Lovely pic. Jason sounds like such a character. Sorry Q was feeling a bit nervous. He is such a sensitive boy that one 🙂

    We are in our last week of holiday now…

    January 9, 2008 at 1:39 pm

  4. jenty

    Poor Quintus! Hope it went well in the end. It’s my turn next week.

    January 9, 2008 at 2:27 pm

  5. I hope to read more of Jason’s stories on his first day of school!

    January 9, 2008 at 2:45 pm

  6. First days are so rough. I can relate to your older son. I always stressed too.

    I have tagged you over at my place if you want to play!

    January 9, 2008 at 9:08 pm

  7. Wenchy

    Nee dis goed so Melanieeeeeeeee my kind. Dat die kinders nou so groter word en ons ouer. Nee, daardie part is nou nie so oulik nie. Sorry. ne.

    January 9, 2008 at 10:05 pm

  8. my3boysandi

    hope they had a good day

    January 9, 2008 at 10:42 pm

  9. mybloggylife

    I love their smiles. And, hey, there’s that skirt again! hottie!

    January 9, 2008 at 11:16 pm

  10. Your boys are adorable adorable adorable! That’s a great pic!

    January 10, 2008 at 3:37 am

  11. mdbeau

    I hope they both ended up having a great first day! And hopefully Quintus won’t be as nervous tomorrow!

    January 10, 2008 at 6:31 am

  12. Hope the first day went well for Quintus. He and Trist are so alike. That Tristan was CONVINCED that nobody would fetch him from school. Honestly. AND he has been doing the school thing for 3 years, as you know. Some are just more sensitive than others, I suppose.

    Can’t wait to see you on Sunday.

    xx

    January 10, 2008 at 10:18 am

  13. Hope it all went well!! They look so sweet. 🙂

    January 10, 2008 at 4:21 pm

  14. My 18 year old couldn’t sleep at all the night before going back to school. In the morning she said it was as if she was back in elementary school. She was never happy to go back to school after any kind of break and would stress out and couldn’t sleep. Which i don’t think helped either.

    January 13, 2008 at 1:38 am

Leave a Reply

