Super Mom

When we were young

You know how the older folk always say “When we were young …”  I was thinking about that tonight as we were once again blessed with being the chosen ones to go without power.  

(Which I must say is driving me nuts, since they seem to “save power” exactly when it’s time to make lunch / dinner. When people are on their way home and traffic lights are kinda important to keep the traffic flowing.)

My folks used to say “When we were young there was no electricity

Now we will get to say to our kids:  “When we were young we always had electricity

Sad that, don’t you think?

8 responses

  1. mybloggylife

    A little perspective can make our thoughts go a long way, can’t it?

    January 16, 2008 at 12:53 am

  2. Hmmm … I think my son will be saying, “When we were young, others always had Xbox or Nintendo or Playstation — but not me. Your grandparents were sooooooo weird that way!”

    January 16, 2008 at 4:29 am

  3. PS: Hope you are beginning to feel a bit better!

    January 16, 2008 at 4:29 am

  4. This load-shedding nonsense is driving me nuts. It took me 2,5 HOURS to get home on Monday. I only work 15kms away from home.
    Stupid Eskom. They make me MAAAAAAAAAAADDDDDD!!!

    January 16, 2008 at 9:33 am

  5. so true… we always had electricity!!

    January 16, 2008 at 12:30 pm

  6. Moaning Myrtle

    A power cut every now and then is fun in a way – on Xmas night we had one for about an hour – we played Trival Pursuit by candlelight. But not sure I could deal with every day – and as you say at mealtimes.

    January 16, 2008 at 12:43 pm

  7. I am so tired of power cuts!!! Yesterday it went off at 8am and only came back on at 13h00!!! I only have so much I can do without my PC or printer or scanner … extremely frustrating 😦

    January 17, 2008 at 8:40 am

  8. Wenchy

    I hate the power cuts especially when we are at work.

    January 19, 2008 at 5:22 pm

Leave a Reply

