Super Mom

Last

Our school has two distance races in each age group. A and B team. The faster runners are in the A race and those who don’t make it there are in the B race.

Quintus made the A group. He was so scared of finishing last and tonight that is exactly what happened in the one race. He came last. As a mother it is SO hard to see your child hurting. I saw him running towards me with this look of defeat, hurt and sadness, yet determined to finish the race.

I just wanted to scoop him up and make it all okay. I gave him the biggest hug and high five and told him I’m extra proud of him. He was just sad. Upset that he came last.

I tried to explain to him that he made it to the A group. That he ran against the school’s fastest runners. That even though he came last in the A group, he still did well because he was included in that race. That he is still faster than the guys in the B group.

His friend who runs pretty much as fast as he does, ran in the B race. He won. Quintus could have won or come second in that race easily. It would have been such a great boost for his self-esteem. It is difficult to convince your 7 year old that it’s okay to loose when his friend won. I don’t think at their age they really realize the difference between the two races. Just that he lost and his friend won.

It is a life lesson this. Learning to cope with defeat. To lose with dignity. I think he handled it pretty well. Once him and I chatted and we walked off the track, he was in better spirits. He even did better in the next race which thankfully ended the night on a higher note.

Still not easy to see your child hurting.

9 responses

  1. Hay

    Poor guy. Pretty much why I avoid competitive pursuits with my kids as much as possible. Everyone always tells kids it doesn’t matter as long as you try, but it matters to them. 😦

    January 18, 2008 at 10:39 pm

  2. my3boysandi

    I wish my school had done this
    I was ALWAYS last
    my thoughts are with Quintus

    January 18, 2008 at 11:20 pm

  3. mybloggylife

    Awww.. poor little guy. Well done with the race, though. Good job, Q!!

    January 19, 2008 at 2:02 am

  4. Poor guy. Hope he’s feeling better about things soon.

    January 19, 2008 at 2:25 am

  5. Kim

    awww…poor kid. Those are tough lessons to learn, hey? Give him a hug from us.

    January 19, 2008 at 5:06 am

  6. Aw poor little dude. It’s so hard when they don’t understand. What a great thing to be in the A race though – seriously!

    January 19, 2008 at 3:11 pm

  7. Addie

    Oh, my. I remember when that used to happen to CJ!! I would always just ask him whether he did his best and if he replied yes, I would convince him thats all that matters!!! Doesn’t always work, though.

    January 19, 2008 at 6:38 pm

  8. breederx

    Hey girl! It has been awhile!!! How are you? How are the boys! I love your new header!:-) Anyway, I am sending you my new blog http://www.sansoucy.wordpress.com
    Hope to hear from you soon!
    Martine

    January 19, 2008 at 7:11 pm

  9. it is indeed hard for our kidlets to learn these life lessons, but they’re so important too. damien’s gymnastics did wonders for his slef esteem!

    January 22, 2008 at 6:27 pm

Leave a Reply

