Super Mom

Barefoot walking

I get a lot of comments on my children going around barefoot. So I thought I would let you get a glimpse into their barefoot world.

Kids are not expected to wear shoes. At all. My kids could go to church barefoot that’s of course if we went They don’t have to wear shoes to restaurants. The schools request that we send them to school without shoes in the summer. No shoes when we go to town or library.

Easily put. My kids don’t wear shoes. Jason likes to wear shoes when he wears jeans but it’s just because of the look lol In the winter they obviously wear shoes but only to keep them warm. Even then they prefer to walk on socks.

I think there comes an age where kids want to wear shoes but mine aren’t anywhere near that!

Walking barefoot is way more healthy than wearing shoes especially in children. Google it. You’ll see 🙂

Oh I often get asked if I’m not scared that my kids will step into something that could harm them. Well…7 years into being a parent and except for the odd thorn, they haven’t stepped into anything that could damage them. Neither did I as a child.
Or now…this may come as a shock but I walk around barefoot often. At work I kick out my shoes and only put them on when we have clients. I don’t wear shoes at home.

Little foot nudists we are!

Children with the healthiest and most supple feet are those who habitually go barefoot. (Dr. Lynn Staheli, M.D. pediatric orthopedist, The N.Y. Times, Aug. 14, 1991)

14 responses

  1. Hay

    Cool! Mine like to go barefoot, but often the ground is too hot! So they usually wear Jandals or Crocs. I’m a sock person, I love wearing them inside. outside anywhere lol.
    I like the “foot nudists” lol

    January 27, 2008 at 9:24 pm

  2. That is SO interesting! I wish I could go in public barefoot! 😉 My how different it is over here.

    Foot Nudists, CUTE term Melany.

    January 27, 2008 at 9:45 pm

  3. jenty

    I prefer my kids to be barefoot as well. In fact Connor has worn shoes about 5 times in his life so far. And the shoes are the first thing to get removed when we all come home.

    January 27, 2008 at 9:47 pm

  4. mybloggylife

    Foor Nudists, I like it.
    Hunter goes to church then takes his shoes off… interesting….

    January 27, 2008 at 10:50 pm

  5. jen

    The boys and I like going shoeless
    Mr Wonderful isnt so keen about it

    January 28, 2008 at 2:12 am

  6. My kids love to be barefoot. Even in winter they will be barefoot in the house. I like to go barefoot in the summer, but when it gets cold, I have to wear socks ’cause my feet get cold. I’m amazed the kids over there go out in public barefoot! I guess you don’t have those “No shirt, no shoes, no service” signs where you live! 🙂

    January 28, 2008 at 3:20 am

  7. Well Melanie, they definitely won’t give you no service because your CHILD isn’t wearing any shoes. Adults mostly do…is just proper.

    January 28, 2008 at 6:55 am

  8. Yanks have a thing about barefeet. As I recall my time in the states, it would be seriously frowned upon if you went into a supermarket or restaurant without shoes (not that I ever did since I hate baring my feet unless alone at home). Thats probably why lots of people are commenting. While I encourage barefootedness with the bubby at home, I insist on shoes when going to the mall etc The only reason being, that because the cases of TB in this country are SO high – and one of the most common ways of catching it is walking barefoot over an area where someone with TB has coughed! Seriously it can actually be spread like that if your feet are say cut etc.

    January 28, 2008 at 9:07 am

  9. strange… of course kids don’t wear shoes!! LOL i hate shoes too!

    January 28, 2008 at 9:24 am

  10. I vote for no shoes!!!! Thank goodness my kids love the “no shoes” idea. My 5 yr old daughter is always wearing real “girly” dresses with no shoes!!

    January 28, 2008 at 2:40 pm

  11. sansoucy

    My gosh girl your photography is amazing! Please e-mail me and I will direct you to a guy who is putting together a Christian book about children, and needs photographs of feet!

    January 29, 2008 at 5:48 am

  12. what an awesome photograph- and i agree with you wholeheartedly.
    damien and i always have and do go barefoot at every opportunity. in fact, its the first thing i do when i get home from work.

    January 29, 2008 at 8:17 pm

  13. Wow, I wish it was that way here. We’d be barefoot all the time too.

    January 30, 2008 at 12:59 am

  14. My kids go barefoot **all** the time at home, but being English folk its shoes for school and outings for us 😉

    January 30, 2008 at 2:14 pm

Leave a Reply

