Super Mom

Liars

Next time my in-laws phone to say they miss the kids and wants us to come visit, I will just call them big fat liars.

They go to visit their other grandson (they only have the 4 grandchildren) almost every weekend.  It’s a longer trip there, than to us.  They haven’t seen my kids in forever and even though my father-in-law was here on Zander’s birthday, he didn’t even come say happy birthday.

Yesterday I found out that they had slept over in town on Wednesday night and again didn’t come to see the kids!!!!! Come on!!!!

This upsets me on so many levels.  My boys love them.  Obviously..they are their grandparents.  Yet they get treated like THIS?  They don’t know but *I* know and it pisses me off upsets me. 

It must be horrible for my husband to know his parents care THIS little. 

I will tell them if they ask us to come visit us again, that they are welcome to visit here if they really miss their grandchildren so much.  I can’t go sit there and make as though everything is sunshine and roses….when in fact the relationship is nothing but desert and cactuses.

Kan mos nou nie so ‘n moordkuil van my hart maak nie.  Which I suppose roughly means in English that I cannot keep the anger to myself…it will kill me.  I should rather just kick, shout and tantrum let them know how I feel.

12 responses

  1. Don’t you just love it when in laws (especially my MIL) take the line of “Oh we miss the kids…they never visit us…boo hoo.” It makes me want to beat them over the head with the telephone handset and then say, ” Well then get in your blo*dy car and get over here dumbass!!” What is it when they reach a certain age they have to make an issue like it’s YOU not inviting THEM!?? Is their other grandchild T’s sister’s child? Or Brothers child? If it’s T’s sisters child, well that would explain a lot…my MIL cannot fault my SIL’s kids, even when they’re rude bratty as*holes. (oh and of course my SIL is a MUCH better mother than me…GRRRRRRRRRRR.

    February 1, 2008 at 5:26 pm

  2. my3boysandi

    I so know how you feel
    my parents use to be the same
    HUGS

    Mel as hard as this is
    be thankful for what you do have
    your own dear caring loving supportive great parents
    they ROCK!!!!
    U are blessed to have them

    February 1, 2008 at 8:57 pm

  3. Jen:
    Oh I absolutely have AMAZING parents. I couldn’t have better. My kids however have two sets of grandparents and the fact that they always make such a huge issue of not seeing the kids but then never visiting ticks me off

    But yes..thank you. I do have great folks

    Val: Yes…it’s his sister’s kid. He only has a sister.

    February 1, 2008 at 9:14 pm

  4. I hear you loud and clear. My in-laws are often the same but my own mother is the worst. This is one reason why we don’t speak. She claims to miss the kids yet she never comes to visit. My dad on the other hand will come over quite often and calls even to say goodnight.

    Next time they say how much they miss the kids I would respond and say, “Oh, you should have stopped over when you were in town on Wednesday or you could come over this weekend instead of making that long trip to the other grandchilds.”

    I would have no mercy and hold nothing back. OUr children deserve better!

    February 2, 2008 at 1:24 am

  5. Balancing Act’s planned response hits!

    February 2, 2008 at 1:39 pm

  6. Well, that’s really disgusting. I wonder if they are having fun doing this to you and your kids Mel.

    February 2, 2008 at 2:07 pm

  7. Isis

    Have you tried inviting them over officially? They may not dare to come to your house because they and you don’t get along? Also, when you gracefully do that, you don’t sink to their level. 😉
    But yes, I understand you. It would make me mad, too. I had a fil and still have a mil in whose eyes I did nothing right. I wish you nerves of steel, and that my treat-mail arrives soon so you have something to keep from going nuts. 🙂

    February 2, 2008 at 7:31 pm

  8. FV

    You know THIS switched around spells something else and that is how I feel they are treating the boys.

    By the way, your gift that I sent you got turned back to me for an invalid zip code. I need to verify it and send it back on Monday.

    February 2, 2008 at 10:56 pm

  9. I have the same problem, and just don’t get it either, grandparents like that…argh, they just don’t deserve grandkids!

    February 4, 2008 at 12:15 pm

  10. Wenchy

    They are NOT proper.

    February 4, 2008 at 1:14 pm

  11. This is so difficult. You are right. You cannot change their behavior. I agree, they do not deserve their grandkids!

    February 5, 2008 at 4:32 pm

  12. sansoucy

    Oh you have got to love/hate inlaws. . .mine are the same way. . .they live so close, but NEVER see their grandkids, and why would they want to? They are way to into money and material things to care. Hang in there, & try to cut your losses. It will be your kids they will be answering to in the future, and then it will be your turn to see them squirm.
    Hugs!
    BreederX

    February 7, 2008 at 7:43 am

Leave a Reply

