Super Mom

Reading

Quintus is putting such an effort with his reading. One of the biggest problems last year was the fact that he didn’t read enough and as a result read too slowly and battled to spell.

This year it’s a whole new ballgame. He reads a new book every day and some days two. He even brought me an English book to read! This is big since the are only on 3 letter words in school and they are all ‘a’ words.

I’m really impressed. Even if his motivation might come from the fact that I’m giving him money for every book he reads. I figure that I’m being paid to do my work…he is being paid to do his.

12 responses

  1. jenty

    LMAO! At least your method is working! I’m gonna write down all these gems, I’m sure I’ll need these one day.

    February 4, 2008 at 9:11 pm

  2. my3boysandi

    WTG Quintus

    February 4, 2008 at 9:54 pm

  3. That is awesome. If paying him gets him to do what he needs to do that go for it.

    February 5, 2008 at 2:07 am

  4. What a good mom! That is sweet of you… Good job Quintus!

    February 5, 2008 at 6:10 am

  5. Hey – go you! What’s a little bribery amongst family? I’m about to employ the money-paying potty training formula 🙂 The Bubby is obsessed with money – and takes to rattling his “Marvel Comics” tin in everybody’s face, causing everyone to start turning out their pockets for change. Very cute. He’s still at the stage where coins are more ‘fun’ than notes, so I usually take the notes for myself – and then transfer whatever the amount was into his bank account from mine. Beats paying ATM fees 🙂 I may just decide to do a potty star chart where the ‘stars’ are actually coins…this could work! How old were your boys when you started potty training?

    February 5, 2008 at 7:55 am

  6. I bribe my kids to do most things. LOL.

    🙂

    February 5, 2008 at 8:03 am

  7. Wenchy

    When you gonna start bribing ME?

    February 5, 2008 at 11:48 am

  8. i tried that, but for some reason it didn’t work! now i have a compulsory 30 minutes reading Mon-Thu, not negotiable… works like a charm AND i have peace and quiet for 30 minutes!!!

    February 5, 2008 at 12:08 pm

  9. Hey! Whatever gets them motivated! It is great that he is reading so much! Good for him!! 🙂

    February 5, 2008 at 4:33 pm

  10. Hey, we had that book! My son loved all of those Scooby Doo books with the little pictures in place of some of the words.

    February 5, 2008 at 7:34 pm

  11. Isis

    That’s not bribery. That is positive reinforcement. 😉

    February 6, 2008 at 4:48 am

  12. Working in the school’s media centre (library) brings me so much joy to see all those eager beavers wanting a book to read. I can imagine how it must make you feel if its your own child.

    Happy Reading!!!

    February 6, 2008 at 8:10 am

Leave a Reply

