Super Mom

Open discussion

For my South African friends.  Please share your point of view with me.  I am totally of the opinion that we all have the right to our own view without being judged.  I want to know how some of you stay so positive about our country.  Maybe I’m missing something.  Focusing on the wrong things.

See.  I’m seriously worried about our country and where it is heading to. 

Crime is sky-rocketing.  It is brutal and without reason.  Yes.  There has always been crime and there is crime in all the countries but here it is everyday.  All the time.  In your face.  There is no respect for the lives of others.  Just trigger-happy criminals.

Corruption. Yes…again, it has always been there.   However, why is it that a criminal might become our next president?  That our chief of police are charged with corruption.  Our local municipal manager has been served court papers.  Seriously the list is endless.  If one messes up he just gets moved to another department.  I feel those in high positions are just totally unequipped for their jobs.  Come on – showers to prevent aids?  Sleep earlier to save electricity?  I just don’t know.  Very much 5th grade answers on how to run a country.

The fact that we have such a huge electricity problem that could have been prevented is a big issue for me.

You know.  I work my butt of and pay every single cent of tax I have to.  As an accountant I make sure that all my clients pay what they have to.  I make sure that all new clients are well aware of the fact that I’m not willing to save them any more than they legally can.

I do this cause I want my money to be used for schooling, medical services, infrastructure.  To be protected from criminals.  For the police to take me seriously. I want a government that knows how to govern that money.

I see similarities between our country and other African countries that went okay … then slowly started going downhill until the decent became too strong to stop.

I don’t know…these are just some of the things that worries me.

So pls…show my why I’m wrong.  Just share your vies with me.

17 responses

  1. jenty

    I’m sorry, you’re asking the wrong person here. Before November last year, we were quite happy living here, but now… it’s a different story. I’ve very worried about our future here.

    February 10, 2008 at 9:10 pm

  2. Hay

    Hi Melany,
    I know you wan to hear from your country mates but hope you won’t mind me popping in. I think you are right to worry. We have huge amounts of Sth Africans moving here because they are terrified of what might happen to them or their kids. It’s not fair to have to live like that, I feel for you guys.

    February 10, 2008 at 11:03 pm

  3. Sorry, I cannot be of help with this situation. BUT…I love the new banner & I am in love with the clay men 🙂

    February 11, 2008 at 4:36 am

  4. You’ve just dipped into my brain and pulled my own thoughts out of my head. You are so right it doesn’t matter how much tax you pay – it will always be mismanaged, stolen, used to buy a slick new black mercedes benz for some assh*le politician. I shudder to think where this country will be in 3-5 years. Hopefully I won’t still be in it! You are so right that we are starting to sound just like every other African country…all talk and blustering, and NO action. Watching the president last night on eTv, I said to my hubby, “Right now he’s dancing around the questions like he’s freakin’ Michael Flatley*!” (Michael Flatley is the guy from “Lord of the Dance”). Although better the devil we know than the one who’s just been elected president of the party…hmmm roll on Aus!!

    February 11, 2008 at 8:17 am

  5. when i look at South Africa i see it about 5 miles down the road heading to a Zimbabwe type country,
    Mel i would ask you and Tommie to thing long and hard about remaining there

    February 11, 2008 at 9:25 am

  6. aeroplanejane

    We lived outside the country, granted it was in other African countries, but I have never appreciated SA this much. We now live in a part of the country where few people would even venture, never mind make a life, but I love being back HOME. I dunno if I can eva make my home anywhere else.

    Please see the glass half full!!!!

    PS My handbag was stolen at a restaurant in a quiet, “safe” holiday town in Mozambique one evening. That has never happened to me at home.

    February 11, 2008 at 11:21 am

  7. Well, I did say crime is everywhere 🙂 Not just here. I want to see the glass half full….I clearly don’t see it though. This is why I’m asking those who do see it that way, to explain to me what I”m missing

    February 11, 2008 at 11:32 am

  8. MelDad

    The black nations that started moving down into South Africa at the time our forefathers started moving North from where they had landed in South Africa, love using comparisions to make a point.

    To me it is like having a huge, rotting river in the middle of the country. It is slowly poisoning everybody and the stench is overpowering. One can try and cover the river and ignore the stench – evntually the river will infect and destroy everyone and the entire country. Just read – http://www.news24.com/News24/South_Africa/Power_Crisis/Home/ – what our MPs are suggesting to correct our power problem that they say is due to our ‘astonishing growth’ that they have bragged for years would be in excess of 6%, but has only grown by 4.5%! Surely they PLANNED for the 6% if that is what they have been saying all along? Do they REALLY think we are not smarter than a 5th grader?

    The ONLY way to correct it is to take hands and handle the problems. We have to get rid of corrupt politicians, corrupt police chiefs, badly run Government departments, potholes, lack of electricity, ignoring the people with expertise we have in the country before they leave.

    Otherwise we must accept that we are on the slippery Zimbabwe road already. Only the momentum that the ANC inherited has kept it going as long as it has.

    It is no good being like an Ostrich and sticking your head in the sand. A lion will come along and bit your bum!!

    February 11, 2008 at 11:57 am

  9. Wenchy

    I told you…. Africa is not a place, it is a feeling. Personally this is where I want to be.

    February 11, 2008 at 12:17 pm

  10. i love south africa, end of story, i’m not going to uproot my kids, wave goodbye to my family and start from scratch somewhere where i will be labeled as a foreighner. see one of my recent posts for some hope http://sweetassrsa.blogspot.com/2008/02/i-agree.html

    February 11, 2008 at 1:29 pm

  11. Stef. It’s not that I don’t love our country. Cause I do. Lots. I love the cultures the scenery. We have one of THE most beautiful countries in the world. It’s the things I mentioned above that makes me very negative.

    I am just trying to see how the positive South Africans manage to see past that, you know? I want to know how.

    February 11, 2008 at 2:25 pm

  12. Being from the US, I am learning a lot about other countries though blogging. I wish peace for us all….

    February 11, 2008 at 6:41 pm

  13. I know the crime rate has to be a hard thing to deal with, as a parent. We worry about our families non stop as it is, and we all worry about violence, even if you live in the safest parts of the world. So I can only imagine how much it would make you worry when you are reading about violence everyday or hearing about it.

    February 12, 2008 at 4:38 am

  14. SecretRider

    I have been in Joburg for 4 days now, and will be here for another 7 weeks or so. Before leaving home, I was told all sorts of things like not to walk the streets alone, not to go out after dark, and so on. All of that made me so nervous the first couple of days, but now I’m starting to see things for myself.

    Everyone I have met, or spoken to, or just walked by is really nice. The country is beautiful and the weather is perfect, even when it rained today.

    If it were just up to me, I think I would stay here for good.

    The main problem I have now is getting used to driving on the wrong side of the road. LOL

    February 12, 2008 at 9:42 pm

  15. i wish i could tell you why i love this country… my friends and family are here, and for that reason alone i could almost say i wouldn’t want to live anywhere else.
    but there’s so much more… heh, sorry melany- i have no words for you to explain it.

    February 15, 2008 at 10:02 pm

  16. As you know Mel I am from the states and I totally agree with MomOf3… Peace for all. The grass isn’t alawys greener on the other side just a different shade of green. You have to follow your heart. It sounds like there are many wonderful things about where you live.

    February 17, 2008 at 4:44 am

  17. Debs

    Mel, hard for me to comment, specially since I’ve been living in Ireland for 8 years. One thing I have to say is that South Africa is a FEELING as Wenchy says….something that you feel, rather than just a place you live in. The people are the warmest, friendliest and most vibrant in the world – everyone is accepted..no matter where you’re from – you all just fit in under the rainbow that is South Africa. Yes..every country has it’s problems and I just hope that SA can somehow overcome their latest problem – lack of electricity and then start on the crime and others. In Ireland we have the drug problem…and lack of things for youths to do..lack of sporting facilities and lack of space and expensive properties etc. In SA…your kids have THAT freedome…freedom of expression, freedom to know other cultures and understand them, freedom to do any and all sports, to participate in good sportsmanship and to know that the sky is the limit. I know you love your country and that is why writing this blog was so painful. SA – a wonderful country, your home, your roots, your past and your present.

    February 24, 2008 at 5:55 pm

Leave a Reply

