Super Mom

My country

I think after my post about our country, I must clear something up.

I love South Africa.  I love the non-criminals people.  I love love love our cultures and how we seem to co-exist perfectly in such vastly different ones. 

This is where I can hear the cry of the African Fish Eagle.  Where we have amazing sunrises and the sun sets on the country I know. 

This is where the people dare to dance on Sarie Maree.  Where we can sokkie and gooi mielies.  My heart lies with my country.  Here.  Where I’m accepted and ‘everyone knows my name’.  

Where we will talk about Paula and Oom Septimus van Zyl as though they are family.  Where we have koeksisters, melktert and souskluitjies.  Where sunshine, rugby and braaivleis goes together like nowhere else on earth.  Not even in the little ‘south african suburbs’ of Australia.

Where you don’t have to travels days to get to the other side of the country but can experience mountains, the nothing of the Karoo, the heat of Upington and the ice-cold of Sutherland. 

This is where I have gone hiking and listened to the endless noise of the sun beetle.  Where my children were born and where my heart lies.

I don’t want to leave my country.  I don’t.  I just don’t want my country taken away from me.

12 responses

  1. Wenchy

    As I have said many times… Africa is not a place. It is a feeling.

    February 25, 2008 at 8:15 pm

  2. jenty

    I love this place, but at the moment, I dislike it. I don’t want to leave it either, but like mny people at the moment, I’m feeling very edgy about the whole situation here. I’m not positive at all anymore.

    February 25, 2008 at 9:45 pm

  3. Gen

    Mel, I think we all feel that way about our country but when you have experienced “the otherside” of it – the nasty dark criminal side, then the only thing you think about is your children and their safety. We have had another incident (not serious though) and this has sent my children (specially R) into a downward spiral again and we are right back where we started 3 years ago! I can’t stand to watch how scared they have become – It is breaking my heart – As beautiful as what this country is, we are now going to be speeding up the process to leave, before it is too late! but yes I do agree with you – Africa is very beautiful!

    February 25, 2008 at 9:53 pm

  4. I don’t want to leave my country. I don’t. I just don’t want my country taken away from me.

    wow… thats possibly the most accurate sentiment i’ve ever heard, it is exactly how i feel!

    February 25, 2008 at 10:33 pm

  5. Maggs

    I don’t want to be run out of here. But I’m scared it may take something from me that can’t be replaced. I think this country needs a prayer day against the crime and violence – it’s all that’s gonna help us now.

    February 25, 2008 at 11:21 pm

  6. I feel the same way for my own country…

    February 26, 2008 at 4:25 am

  7. Even though you may write about the downsides of SA living at times, the way you speak of the beauty and the culture, the landscape and the people makes me want to visit so badly. Someday. I believe we all originate from Africa. It would be like coming home.

    February 26, 2008 at 6:17 am

  8. I dont want to leave here either.

    February 26, 2008 at 9:20 am

  9. it can only be taken away from you if you allow it, we are definetely not there yet, hope, pray and work, there is hope yet 😉

    February 26, 2008 at 12:05 pm

  10. Debs

    Wow…I have cold shivers Mel…can picture and feel what you’re saying….it’s like I’m there..so many years ago….and yes…South Africa is in your heart, your blood and your future always. Excellent blog. xxx

    February 26, 2008 at 12:17 pm

  11. I love the way you describe our country! Its not the best place to be right now, but I can’t really think of another place that can replace it. I would like to remain positive, and yet I know that its not the easiest thing, especially if you have been affected.

    God Bless South Africa!

    February 27, 2008 at 8:00 pm

  12. So lets all stay and make sure it not given away. Great post.

    February 29, 2008 at 9:34 pm

Leave a Reply

