Super Mom

Money

The boys want to buy a certain toy and are planning a zillion different ways to make money.  One is to buy and sell sweets. 

Okay great.  Where will they get the original lay-out of capital from?  Mom of course.  They will work in the house to get enough to make their first purchases.

Good.  No problem.  Then comes the:

“If I make up my bed how much do I get?”  – “Nothing.  You HAVE to do that”

“If I pick up the clothes do I get paid?” – “No.  You HAVE to do that”

“Can I wash the floor, walls, bath, dog, feet, TV, carpets, desk, chairs, Zander (trust me the list was endless)?” – YES!!!  Just go!

“Okay, what can we do now?”  “Now?”  “And now?”  “How much do we get if we do that?”  “How much do we get for this?”

Never ending.  What?  How much?  More? 

I walk into the kitchen and they are washing my kitchen floor with my dishcloth!!!!

Oh word.  Would it be wrong if I payed them to do nothing!?

15 responses

  1. Wenchy

    Yip… my kids also have the same outlook.

    March 9, 2008 at 10:43 am

  2. Maybe show them the right way the first time – and you may never have to a)pay for a maid or b) do any cleaning yourself EVER again!! Bonus!! Bubby is also onto the cleaning gig at the moment (but hasn’t cottoned onto the fact that he can ask for money in return) I often find him pushing the broom around (the tiles/carpets/garden – anywhere really) turns to me and says, “Mama, I keening ok?” Very cute 🙂 Which toy is it that your boys are saving up for?

    March 9, 2008 at 11:41 am

  3. LOL … I had a great laugh reading this post!!!

    March 9, 2008 at 12:29 pm

  4. psst boys little word in your ear, remember if mom says no ask ouma (did spell that right) works nearly every time

    March 9, 2008 at 1:51 pm

  5. jenty

    LOL, at least they’re trying.

    March 9, 2008 at 5:11 pm

  6. *giggle*

    March 9, 2008 at 6:51 pm

  7. ROFL

    March 9, 2008 at 6:54 pm

  8. my3boysandi

    LOL sounds familiar

    March 9, 2008 at 8:07 pm

  9. Too funny! I remember going around my neighborhood selling pictures I drew on notebook paper for ten cents. My mom was so embarrassed when she found out I’d been ringing doorbells. (They weren’t even really good pictures, because I was going for volume so I drew them fast.)

    March 10, 2008 at 12:00 am

  10. FUNNY!

    March 10, 2008 at 3:20 am

  11. pay them to stay away from the dishcloth 🙂

    March 10, 2008 at 6:00 am

  12. Sarah

    Oh Lord. Mine aren’t trying to get money yet. Abigail likes doing grown up stuff and likes to ‘wash dishes’. I more or less let her – plastic stuff she can’t break. Now picture this, all of us in Pick n Pay, doing shopping, I pick up dishwashing liquid, Abigail loudly asks in the middle of the isle ‘Mommy do I have to do dishes tonight?’. Cringe moment. LOL.

    March 10, 2008 at 9:00 am

  13. I could have written this post….except I have 2 girls….Very funny. But not so much when its 5pm and you tryna make supper and they want to “help” with EVERYTHING!!

    March 10, 2008 at 9:07 pm

  14. heh heh… at least your boys offer to do things- damien just asks for the money! or he sends me text messages hinting at what he’s found…

    March 10, 2008 at 10:43 pm

  15. FV

    At this point, NO. That is a wonderful idea. HEHE

    March 12, 2008 at 11:12 pm

Leave a Reply

