Super Mom

Carved memories

I have always wanted an old school desk. Clearly I don’t have bad school memories! I cannot really say why but it’s something that I wanted and I’m kinda glad to give that tiny piece of my school history to the boys.
We bought one in Parys today and Jason is in love with the desk. Mmm…like mother like son?

Looking at this desk brings back some memories. Remember how we carved out our names or the guy you loved in that desk? Trying to hide it from the teacher but brag to your friends. Not that I ever did this!

I look at this and I wonder. Does Rhiana still know Johan? How old were they when they were in love? Was this carved into the desk at the beginning of the school year? Did they break up soon after and thus forced the guy/girl to stare at that all year long?

So many kids have sat at that exact desk. Counting down the hours to the end of the school day. Worrying over exams. Falling in and out of love. Where are all those kids today?

Is really weird how looking at that desk makes school feel like so many ages ago but also like it was just yesterday.

8 responses

  1. my3boysandi

    wonderful memories
    thanks for sharing and making me think

    March 15, 2008 at 8:43 pm

  2. Pingback: Carved memories | Dompo Mom

  3. my3boysandi

    I have tagged you its a competition
    too
    hope youll take part
    Jen

    March 15, 2008 at 9:52 pm

  4. Cheryl

    I too love the old school desks.

    Nostalgic moment.

    Imagine; “the lives that touched this desk….”

    March 15, 2008 at 9:54 pm

  5. That is so totally, totally cool!

    March 15, 2008 at 10:13 pm

  6. What a cool thought. Whatever did happen to all the kids that went through there. What did they learn? How did they use it? What was their family like? I rarely stop to think like this. Thanks for the break!

    March 17, 2008 at 6:15 am

  7. Addie

    I still have fond memories about my carved desk at school!!!

    March 18, 2008 at 8:27 am

  8. oh i love those desks… we still had them briefly in primary school but they very quickly switched the plain flat ones, two learners to a table in primary school and the single desks in high school.
    its like everyone forgot that having the desk at an angle is more conducive to neatness!

    March 19, 2008 at 7:51 am

Leave a Reply

