Super Mom

Soapbox

This pisses me off upsets me.  Okay yeah…there’s a power problem in South Africa.  Yes it is cold all of a sudden. And apparently it is unpredicted and never happens since Eishkom did not prepare themselves for it?

Okay let’s accept that we have to have power cuts and load shedding and all of that crap BUT CAN THEY NOT WARN US!!!!  Fuck Just give me time to sort out food for the kids then.  Make sure homework is done. 

I was just at the doctor earlier this afternoon when I heard about a c-section scheduled for 18h00.  The power went out at 18h05.  I don’t want to be that mom-to-be.  Yes they have back-up generators but goodness, I don’t want an op under those circumstances.

Little Bear has tonsillitis.  As I suspected.  I walked in and told the doctor that I’m pretty confident he has tonsillitis, so all he needs to do is check his throat and give me antibiotics.  He just laughed and asked how I knew.  Well, after three kids and countless infections, I’m pretty much a pro on that one.

Thankfully I gave him the Voltaren suppository before the power was cut

5 responses

  1. I’ve already checked with my gynae about the hospital where I am having my caesar – and she said not to worry, that in the event of a power outage -the lights don’t even flicker, the generator is that good. Thank god. To think that that was actually one of the questions I had to ask her – that our country is going down the toilet that quickly – that I had to ask. Anyway at least it will be ok if something does happen. I’m also pissed because we had an unplanned outage at 14h00 – so NONE of my ironing got done – and Bubby wouldn’t nap, so there was no distracting him with Shrek or Cars or such like. At least the weather was hot, so we went for a swim – and it came back on around 16h30 -but STILL what a PAIN IN THE ASS I AGREE!!!!

    March 18, 2008 at 6:58 pm

  2. my3boysandi

    awwwwwwwwwwww I hope he gets better soon
    I had this so bad and such a long time when I was a child
    we use to go to an old doctor who didnt want to take the dam things out
    we changed doctors eventually and I did have them out
    hope little bear feels better soon

    March 18, 2008 at 8:58 pm

  3. jenty

    Hope he recovers soon!
    And I hear you about the loadshedding, hopefully that’s not gonna happen half way through my little op tomorrow!

    March 18, 2008 at 10:05 pm

  4. LOL. My doc knows me so well. I walk in and he asks me “What can I prescribe for your kid?” Its a standing joke, he often says he will just send me home with his prescription pad except he has 2 kids of his own and HAS TO MAKE A LIVING!

    March 18, 2008 at 10:33 pm

  5. ah yes, the “unplanned outages” that have been happening despite the schedule that was released… but now everything is sposed to be okay again because two of their machines are back up and running?
    mwaaaaaaaaahahahahaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

    March 19, 2008 at 7:32 am

Leave a Reply

