Super Mom

Yeah – 3 boys

Why is it that people automatically assume that it must be tough to raise three boys.  Normally people see me with one or two of the boys and then as soon as the others join me, they will raise their eyebrows and get this “Oh-man-I-feel-sorry-for-you” look in their eyes.  Why?  Why do they automatically assume that boys are naughty. 

Even worse.  Why do they reply with “So no girl hey”.

To the general world out there.  I have three boys.  I love my three boys to the end and back.  I love having three boys.  I think I have good boys who generally don’t behave badly.  I don’t think raising three boys is more or less difficult than raising any combination of boy / girl children.  Yes I don’t have a daughter.  I did say I have three boys so I’m sure there is no girl child that I forgot about.

Oh and if you wanted to ask if I tried for a daughter?  I would have loved to have a daughter but no.   I tried to have a child.  The sex of the child was not up to me.

13 responses

  1. I get the same response over having two boys. I found out a few days ago that there is no possibility of having any more so I guess we will not try for a third. I was actually hoping for one more boy to add to the crew. My husband wanted his own personal quartet (with him singing baritone). I don;’t think I would know how to play with a girl if I had one.

    March 21, 2008 at 5:53 pm

  2. mybloggylife

    I wish that there was some ultimate comback for that question… It’s not the same, at all, but in the same realm as the “So, are you done?” question I get when people see that I have a boy and a girl. “Yes, all I really want one boy and one girl.” NOT!! I want more kids, we’ll see if that’s in God’s plan for me…..

    March 21, 2008 at 7:08 pm

  3. Preach it! I got that all the time when I had the three girls and was pregnant. “So, trying for a boy this time?” No, we were TRYING at all it just happened. And if this is a girl, we’ll be thrilled. Found out it was a boy – we were happy. “So, now you got your boy. Ya gonna stop?” WE WEREN’T TRYING FOR A BOY!!!!!!!!!!!!!! But we love him to bits. 🙂 And him being a boy had nothing to do with why we “stopped”. Morons. They’re idiots, though I don’t think they mean to be.

    March 21, 2008 at 8:54 pm

  4. If you gonna have 3 of a kind…I would say boys are the way to go!! My two girls are flippin’ high maintenance and my boy is totally easy going! But that is just us.We are blessed to have a both sexes but 3 was our lot so we just got lucky! And before I knew it was a boy, I was QUITE content to add a 3rd girl to our trio. Now people keep telling me to shoot for a 4th so my boy has a playmate. Duh?? Like I can decide the sex????

    March 21, 2008 at 9:44 pm

  5. jenty

    I get the same response and I only have 2 boys.

    March 21, 2008 at 10:37 pm

  6. my3boysandi

    you have a lovely family Mel
    you try being my sister she has a large family and gets the same treatment
    but she choose to have them and they each and every one of them is a blessing
    all children are

    March 22, 2008 at 1:40 am

  7. I wish I had this dilema! I get the question – is this your ONLY one? Or are you planning to have more…? Hard to answer. But I feel what you saying on the looks and judgement.

    March 22, 2008 at 4:22 am

  8. I don’t think just because you have boys then it’s tough and just because you have daughters, parenting is a breeze. I guess people who stereotype are either without kids or just plain judgemental.

    March 22, 2008 at 5:31 pm

  9. Sing it girl! Why people have comments at all about the size, gender etc. of your family is beyond me. And, you know it’s a well-known fact that boy families are always the cool families! 🙂
    Tricia (tricializ)

    March 23, 2008 at 10:43 pm

  10. Oh I get the same thing from people because I have two boys!! To be completely honest, yes I would love to have a girl – what woman out there can honestly say she doesn’t?! But I would rather have healthy kids more than anything. And it really annoys me when people are ask “ooh are you going back for a third, so you can try for a girl?” When I have my third, I won’t care in the slightest what the sex is…although a girl would be nice, I’m not sure what to do with girls!!! 🙂
    Your boys are gorgeous Mel 🙂
    xoxo

    March 24, 2008 at 8:26 am

  11. Jennyklass

    And Three more wonderful children would be hard to find Melany, Give them a hug for me …

    March 24, 2008 at 4:31 pm

  12. I have lost track of how many times people ask me so when are you going to try for that girl.

    I love having two boys. We knew we were stopping at two children regardless of the sex. I would have been happy and sad with either. If I had two boys then I could never say my daughter but my older one would have his brother as his best friend. On the other hand if I had a daughter then my older and younger one would never know that special bond between common sex siblings.

    I count my blessings everday as I believe that my boys too are well behaved. I may have to replace more pants because of the holes in the knees but I don’t have to buy the hair clips and several pairs of shoes. LOL – yup I will keep my boys just the same.

    March 24, 2008 at 4:38 pm

  13. honestly- i admire anyone who has more than one child- i have my hands full with just damien!
    go supermom!!!

    March 25, 2008 at 10:30 pm

Leave a Reply

