Super Mom

Here we go

I cannot believe I am willingly letting him learn the game of golf. Hit the white ball. Walk after the white ball. Hit it again. Walk again. Hit it again. Putt. Miss. Putt.

Today Quintus played his very first golf game in the junior golfing league. I think he did darn well for a little guy who has never played before and has only practised with a 7/8 iron.

I the novice who knows nothing about the game walked with him. Stood by. Gave advice. High-fived. Hugged. Gave support and got sunburnt.

The 18 holes got a bit much at the end but he did really well. He plays again on Thursday and I’m sure that from here on out he will just improve.

Whilst I don’t like golf myself, I do think it’s important for kids to be able to learn the game.  So many business transactions are done and sealed on a golf course.

He got a new golf set today which also didn’t help since he was not used to the clubs at all. He told me after the game that one day he will repay us that R700. So sweet. One day my son. One day.

10 responses

  1. The Bubby has been hitting (albeit with plastic clubs) since he was in his walking ring. Clearly Daddy was a little obsessive 🙂 Now he’s got three ‘real’ clubs already that are ‘his’ size, official US (kids) PGA stuff. I shudder to think what hubby has spent on it, but I’m keeping my yap shut because I really enjoy the 4 hours of free time I get when they go off to the driving range 🙂 Hubby says if we end up having a third child – and by some freak chance it’s a boy (I totally thought of you when he said that) then at least he will have a ‘four-ball’ to play golf with. Ha ha ha. I didn’t add that if it was a girl – he could still have a four ball, but then I thought no – at least I’ll have someone to go riding with me! I’m glad Q enjoyed the game – I agree – it’s very important for them to know how to play – even if they’re not wild about it – it’s really good for business!!

    March 25, 2008 at 9:54 pm

  2. my3boysandi

    wtg Quintus

    March 25, 2008 at 9:57 pm

  3. thats fantastic!!! its so exciting when the kidlets find something they enjoy!!!

    March 25, 2008 at 10:28 pm

  4. jenty

    That’s so cool!!

    March 25, 2008 at 10:55 pm

  5. Oh my gosh…Brian LOVES golf and for the life of me I can’t figure out why!? So boring to me. And he likes to watch it to! Talk about a good way to put you to sleep;)

    But if they boys love it, GOOD for them;) Better them than me;)

    March 26, 2008 at 2:19 am

  6. The next Gary Player!

    March 26, 2008 at 3:53 am

  7. wow! he’ll be daddy’s buddy soon…

    March 26, 2008 at 7:01 am

  8. Addie

    Way to go, Quintus … the right game to learn how to play

    March 26, 2008 at 1:50 pm

  9. Gen

    Glad to see Q is playing gwarra gwarra – very good game for the kids to play. Both my boys play golf and they love it!! Maybe he knows he is gonna be a pro one day hence why he said he will pay you back for the clubs – hehehehehe!! Take Care. BTW are you guy’s going to the wedding?

    March 27, 2008 at 9:30 am

  10. Wenchy

    Is not a bad thing babe.

    March 27, 2008 at 1:11 pm

Leave a Reply

