Super Mom

What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger

Bullshit!  This specific saying ticks me off and yeah that’s not the only one.

Rape doesn’t kill you but it sure as hell doesn’t make you stronger.  Losing a child doesn’t kill you but sure as hell doesn’t make you stronger. 

Many many things happen in life that doesn’t make you stronger.  A failed marriage.  It changes you.  Doesn’t make you stronger.

Then people are known to say that talking about stuff makes it easier.

WHAT?  Come on.  So ripping open your heart and opening up old scars because there is little reminder of previous pain will make it better?  Nope.  Sorry.  You won’t convince me off that one.

Talking about current issues, issues that you have some power in changing.  Yes.  that makes sense.

I have no clue what the point of this post is.

10 responses

  1. Are your “current issues” killing you or making you stronger?

    I, too, am confused … but I do believe things happen for a reason; so there must be a good reason why you wrote this post.

    April 10, 2008 at 6:27 pm

  2. I actually do think what doesn’t kill you, makes you stronger… but I am not going to argue with you, because you might just succeed in killing me!

    (((HUGS)))

    April 10, 2008 at 8:43 pm

  3. The point of this post doesn’t matter. You need to vent. Rant. Scream. Go ahead! We’re listening.

    April 11, 2008 at 2:40 am

  4. Wenchy

    I think people don’t know what to say when they quote crap like that.

    My failed marriages (plural) opened my eyes to new things and did expose me to new things, but I am not sure if it made me stronger?

    Different maybe and weary.

    April 11, 2008 at 12:12 pm

  5. Normal

    Sad to see that you are obviously so very angry. I hope you can work through what ever you need to help you through this. I found that ranting and raving and ripping your heart open sometimes does help, kinda like popping a bottle of bubbling champagne, just let it all pour out……OK….I have just realised how absolutely, positively cheesy that sounds!!!!

    April 11, 2008 at 3:51 pm

  6. the point was to get it out of your head girl!!!

    April 14, 2008 at 10:12 am

  7. I look in the mirror each day…if I am alive then I have survied yesterday and hopefully become stronger …so far so good.

    November 5, 2008 at 3:42 am

  8. oh and my eldest (12) will say whilst Iam looking into my mirror…”my mum never gives up!” If she believes it then I have to believe I am stronger and can face another day.

    November 5, 2008 at 3:46 am

  9. Nyla

    This is an old post. I agree with the person who posted this topic. NO, what doesn’t kill you doesn’t make you stronger. That is the dumbest saying I’ve ever heard of. I lost my son 9 months pregnant for “reasons unknown.” We had tried to conceive for 8 years beforehand. I almost died during my emergency C-section. His death didn’t make me stronger by any means. I hide behind a mask every single day of my life. I am literally dead inside; not stronger. I also hate, “everything happens for a reason.” What was the reason it took my husband and me almost a decade to finally conceive (the only thing in this world that we’ve ever wanted) and then have it ripped away from us for no explanation whatsoever??!? Please someone tell me that! And don’t you dare say that god needed him more. There is no god or higher power in this universe that wanted or needed our baby more than we did. It’s been 5 years since that happened and we are still trying to get pregnant again.

    May 26, 2012 at 5:47 am

  10. “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger” only applies to dead things like metal and concrete. Under tension, compression, and/or different types of stresses (impact and/or heat) some materials are made stronger. Steel is a good example… BUT those things are not alive. They are not living things… They were all created as, already are, and always will be DEAD.

    Humans are different. We are living. We are ALIVE.

    The rules of the dead do not apply to the living, and what doesn’t kill you definitely doesn’t make you stronger. The truth is that what doesn’t kill you definitely changes you, in some permanent way compared to how you were before. Although I suppose if it kills you, that is also a permanent change… but you know what I mean. The truth is you will become more of something while ALSO becoming less of something.

    For example, a traumatic event could make one have more wisdom, but ALSO have less self esteem at the same time.

    You get the picture.

    It’s not just negative things that do this though. All living experiences do this. Successes cause the same “more of this and less of that” too.

    So ultimately, It’s a stupid quote written by people whose actions may impact others in a way that may be different from what those impacted needed and/or wanted….

    And those people doing those actions created/use the quote to brainwash everyone into being more “accepting” of situations/events/outcomes they may not have chosen.

    Now you know.

    September 14, 2012 at 12:30 am

Leave a Reply

