Super Mom

Loadshedding homework

Dear Eskom

RE: Loadshedding

I would like to fix your attention to the photo attached. This is my 7 year old son trying to do his homework. In the dark.

We pay our electricity account on time and in full every month. We have done so ever since we have personally become liable for paying our accounts, which would be when we left our parent’s homes.

Thanks to bad management on your part we are now sitting without electricity and my son has to do his homework by the single light we are able to switch on thanks to a very loud generator we have running.

Due to the lack of light, I try to just get him to finish his homework as quickly as possible (worrying about the impact of the bad light on his eyes). I do not give him extra work. I just point out mistakes instead of giving him more time to learn and practise. I do not expect him to read additional books.

Thank you. You are directly making school even more difficult than what it currently is for my child. Also, I’m ticking off my neighbours due to the loud generator running next to my house.

So once again, I thank you Eskom. Thank you for giving our country’s electricity to other countries when we don’t have enough for our own consumption. Thank you for your bad management that is the direct cause of our current problems.

I wish you luck with the winter (and extra strain on demand) that lies ahead….oh no wait. I wish all of us good luck. It’s going to be one dark winter.

Like the current joke going around – Let’s change our National Anthem to “Hallo darkness my old friend”

Regards
Melany

4 responses

  1. fivebrowns

    Bit of a bitch huh? Here in my corner of Cape Town we still have it easy…we only get cut for about 2 hours (4-6pm) on Tuesdays. I hear you guys are taking it HARD up there. Best you relocate sista! 😉

    April 15, 2008 at 9:35 pm

  2. Sarah

    yep. we have no generator. just lots of candles. LOL. Oh and gas cooking mechanisms. Although have to admit, have been pretty lucky so far – only been without power for two evenings for two hours each. Hope it stays that way.

    April 16, 2008 at 1:21 pm

  3. Eskom usually switch our lights off between 6am – 10am. I prefer that time to during the evenings.

    There is NOTHING proper about ESKOM. NOTHING. NIKS.

    April 16, 2008 at 1:25 pm

  4. Wenchy

    Loud generator. At least you have one.

    April 16, 2008 at 3:06 pm

Leave a Reply

