Super Mom

Lung function test

I have mentioned before how Jason has a real high allergy count and doesn’t have much energy. After putting him on some medication as prescribed by my GP, it did seem to go somewhat better but he still had the constant runny noise, sneezing and watery eyes. I can not be fun.

I finally *hanging my head in shame* took him to a paediatrician today. He looked at Jay and immediately said that even without doing a lung function test to see if he has asthma or not, the allergy alone is enough to cause the lack of energy. He has severe allergy and unfortunately it’s to grass and the likes, so nothing we can do about that. We can only treat the symptoms.
He is not happy about the meds he is on, saying it won’t do much to relieve the symptoms…well clearly it is not helping. So new stuffs for the allergy and apparently I must sit when I find out how much it costs.

Then he did the lung function test. Now see, just after birth Jason was diagnosed with asthma. On and off I had him on pumps. He doesn’t wheeze and doesn’t cough when he runs. In my opinion he didn’t have asthma then. My mom and brother has asthma. I know what it sounds like I thought. So I really felt that the doctor was just using asthma as an excuse (like they often like to do).

Well the lung function test shows clearly that he has asthma. Clearly. Poor child has less than 70 %  lung capacity as other kids his age and length. Even after the medication they give to expand the airways (pretty much the same as an asthma pump), he still didn’t come near the normal capasity.

He will now be on a daily pump again. Plus meds for the allergy. I hope this will help him. I hope this will sort out his asthma and allergy so that he can feel better and have enough energy to play with his friends and take part in sports.

18 responses

  1. Here in the states – kids like him would be on allergy shots. Do you guys do that there? I’ve been on them for 2 years and am SO much better! I have not had a sinus infection in 1 year! THAT hasn’t happened since I was like 14!!! It’s wonderful!!

    April 17, 2008 at 10:09 pm

  2. I hope with the new meds he is feeling better soon!!!

    April 17, 2008 at 10:50 pm

  3. Hay

    Poor wee lad, hope he feels much better quickly!

    April 17, 2008 at 10:59 pm

  4. I hope he starts feeling better soon! At least now you know the cause and continue working towards a solution! I am about to head in to see an allergist here. I have had a cold since October. Ick! 🙂

    April 18, 2008 at 12:17 am

  5. my3boysandi

    good on you for taking him to the doc Mel
    praying he feels better soon

    April 18, 2008 at 3:14 am

  6. you are really a supermom! you know so well when your kids need some helping…

    April 18, 2008 at 7:01 am

  7. Lischka

    Hi Mel

    I have Jordan on Singular for her asthma & allergies and I swear by the stuff. She takes 1 tablet a night, has no cortisone in it. She’s under the care of our paed whom is an expert on asthma & allergies, sits on the board and goes to Holland every year for 3 months doing further research. Since Jordan has been on Singular (3 years now) I can honestly say that she hasn’t even had as much as a cold! She has a slight runny nose & itchy eyes through allergy season but nothing to complain about compared to what she was like. Ask your Dr about it and do some research on the net …..
    Good luck – Jason will feel tons better once he’s getting treatment – shame poor boy – I know how it feels (I’m also an allergy/asthma sufferer!)

    April 18, 2008 at 9:04 am

  8. Hmmm… my husband has some asthma. I wonder if this is why he is tired all the time. He gets plenty of rest, yet he is tired every day. I should have him tested like your son.

    April 18, 2008 at 9:24 am

  9. Wenchy

    I am glad you now know what is wrong with Jay. Yay for that!!

    April 18, 2008 at 12:16 pm

  10. Normal

    thinking of you, hope all goes well with the new meds and he can have fun with his buds again.

    April 18, 2008 at 2:23 pm

  11. I stopped seeing our GP for *exactly* that reason. He told me the reason the Bubby kept getting croup, was because he was asthmatic – and wanted to put him on chronic medication. I went and got the meds from the pharmacy, but something in my GUT told me not to give it to him. So I left it. After an entirely different visit to the GP, where I again got this gut feel that they had it wrong, I just stopped going to the GP and went straight to the paediatrician – and boy was I right. Croup and asthma are totally unrelated. Croup is upper airways and asthma lower airways. I would have been giving him chronic asthma meds for *months* for NO reason. When I told the paediatrician what the gp had prescribed he was horrified. Now we suck it up and pay the extra to see the paediatrician every time because we know we’re getting the right advice. Needless to say I *love* my paediatrician, seriously – he’s awesome.

    April 18, 2008 at 3:30 pm

  12. OH – and I hope J feels better soon! At least he doesn’t cough and stuff when he gets around – I’m sure with the right advice and stuff he will be just fine!

    April 18, 2008 at 3:30 pm

  13. Nearly everyone in our house has allergies/asthma of some sort. (Except my husband.) Most do not have classic symptoms and it is tricky sometimes.

    I’m glad you took him in and he will get some relief. Like another commenter, I take singulair and it has made it so I don’t need my inhaler regularly anymore.

    April 18, 2008 at 6:12 pm

  14. Cheryl

    Hi Mel

    What a relief it must be for you to know what is wrong – and good on you for being big enough for admitting you were wrong, and even bigger yeah for you, for going to see a paed.

    I hope that Jay is in full good health soon, regardless of the cost. It’s sad that good health comes at such a price these days – but then, what doesn’t. 🙂

    I too am an allergy sufferer, thank goodness no asthma. I can SO understand how poor little Jay must be feeling. Last week I was on cortizone and steroids and a whole bunch of meds to get the allergies under control. Breathing was such an effort and I can understand the not having energy, heck if you can’t get enough oxygen, then even breathing is exhausting.

    But enough of that…. Feel better soon Jason.

    April 18, 2008 at 10:18 pm

  15. kaylee2

    poor thing 😦

    April 19, 2008 at 2:56 am

  16. That is just unimaginiable! No wonder so many young people grow up with aggression issues and are quick to allow their tempers to flare. I hope he’s okay!

    April 19, 2008 at 8:22 pm

  17. I was referring to the rugby thing but it looks like somehow it got put in the wrong place :s

    April 19, 2008 at 8:23 pm

  18. ag mel… its sad that he battles so, but speaking as an allergic asthmatic- the right treatment makes a world of difference!
    i am allergic to 70+ plants on top of dust and such, so there’s no way i can avoid it all… i made peace with having to take meds for the rest of my life a looong time ago.
    its either that or sneeze cosntantly and permanently walk around with swollen mushy eyes!
    not pretty…
    good luck to you both!

    April 21, 2008 at 7:28 am

Leave a Reply

