Super Mom

Potty training 101

There is one huge advantage in potty training a boy. Boys can wee anywhere.

I have a very relaxed view on potty training. I merely talk to the boys about it but never push them into potty training. I never ‘train’ them. Ever.

Zander is showing signs and has even told me he needs to wee on a many occasions (one being this afternoon when I dutifully pulled off the road to let him wee) So the fun has begun. He doesn’t like being asked if he needs to go though. He wants to be the one saying. So I am sitting back and just enjoying him doing all of this by himself.

One thing that does make him excited is that frog in the photo. That frog potty trained Jason. He thought it was the best thing yet to wee on that frog. Someone told him that the frog will grow if it gets enough ‘water’. Zander believes that too.

Here’s to potty training fun. Could he not choose to do this in the summer?

12 responses

  1. Noid

    I remember those days but both of my kiddies were very proper about it. They didnt like the wetness in their nappy and went without lots of the time so it was easy getting them “trained”.

    I want a Frog like that too!!!!

    April 24, 2008 at 10:33 pm

  2. mybloggylife

    Go you and Z!! I want a frog to help me out!

    April 24, 2008 at 11:18 pm

  3. my3boysandi

    my you are brave
    we potty train around home but im not keen enough to allow him to go in the car without a nappy yet

    April 24, 2008 at 11:48 pm

  4. Calling Him Out

    I so remember going through this time with my little one and then one day the light-bulb turned on for him and it was done. He was potty-trained. Much luck.

    April 25, 2008 at 12:28 am

  5. kim

    Is that a Chia pet he is peeing on. Wow, what a great idea a Chia pet that grows when you “water” it. What more motivation could a kid want? I love that you are not pushing him, they do it when they are ready.

    April 25, 2008 at 5:18 am

  6. Wenchy

    Please organize Sir a frog!

    April 25, 2008 at 8:27 am

  7. OH potty training! Fun isn’t it? Bubby has just taken to it in the biggest way. We waited until new baby was here before turning it up a notch and yesterday we had our first no. 2 in the potty – man he was SO SO SO proud of himself! We’ve gone with the whole star chart approach and it’s working a treat! He repeated yesterdays triumph with another one this morning so I reckon he’s doing really well at this stage. I think it helps that a no. 2 gets a Thomas the Tank Engine sticker on his chart and not just a gold star…ha ha kids! Love ’em!

    April 25, 2008 at 9:02 am

  8. I remember the first time I taught Noah to stand up outside and pee in the grass. he was devastated but there was no other option. In that way, it is definitely easier to travel with boys than girls.

    April 25, 2008 at 2:20 pm

  9. JD preferred to train in the Summer. He peed on anything, anywhere. Why bother coming inside when you could pee in the yard and keep playing? Makes sense to me.

    April 25, 2008 at 7:30 pm

  10. Cheryl

    Jess decided in December that she wanted to use a pottie. The only time she wears a nappy is at nap time (sometimes) and at night.

    We are still having problems with No.2, mostly still in the pantie 😦

    Way to go Zander

    April 26, 2008 at 10:35 am

  11. jenty

    LOL, winter must be a sign to start change, Bradley did the same thing.
    I love the frog idea, at least it works!

    April 26, 2008 at 11:13 am

  12. aw thats so sweet!
    i “taught” damien the same way… way back when!

    May 5, 2008 at 8:07 pm

Leave a Reply

