Super Mom

African

This question has been asked many times this past week:  Do you see yourself as an African?  What is the definition of an African?

My answer, without even giving it a thought is “Hell yes!”  Of course I am.  I was born in this country.  On this continent.  I am a South African.  African. 

Do you need to be black to be an African?  No.  Does being a black person, regardless of where you live make you an African.  No.  Although some people interviewed on Morning Live actually said that to be true.  I so disagree with that.  Am I a European because I’m white?  Am I a German because my grandmother was.  Hell no.  I’m an African.  I was born here.  This is home. 

What did come as a shock to me is how many of my friends, clients and my husband too did not see themselves as being African.  They could give me no real reason as to why not though.  They just don’t.

I am African.

11 responses

  1. Yip, I must agree with you. I’m a born and bred African!

    May 25, 2008 at 8:19 pm

  2. Maggie

    I also see this as a no-brainer. It may be a rainbow nation, but we’re all South African 🙂

    May 25, 2008 at 9:25 pm

  3. I think it’s so important to be proud of who you are and where you have come from. No matter where that is:)

    May 25, 2008 at 9:37 pm

  4. your nationality is determined from where you are born, which is why my Scottish Mother and German Father, are a bit put out that i’m classed as Welsh

    May 25, 2008 at 9:53 pm

  5. Hay

    I love the pride you have for your country. In all the turmoil it would be easy to be negative about it.

    May 25, 2008 at 10:56 pm

  6. Isis

    My humble opinion:
    Home is where your heart is.

    Now feel free to tar and feather me.

    May 26, 2008 at 4:02 am

  7. In my country, we talk about being an “American” regardless of skin color, or ancestry, or language. Everyone here is an American, pure and simple.

    You are identified with the country where you were born OR have adopted as your homeland. I think if you love a place, then you have the absolute right to call yourself by that place.

    May 26, 2008 at 5:10 am

  8. like you mel, i could not see myself as anything but an african. i was born here and i have grown up here and my son was born here.
    i have european ancestry yes, but my parents were also born here- what else could i be!!?!

    May 26, 2008 at 7:16 am

  9. Well, as Isis says, “home is where your heart is”, guess what? My heart aint here!

    Interesting though isn’t it, our different perspectives? Had I been asked the same question, my answer without hesitation is HELL NO! But I’ve always felt that way. Since I was a little girl. I used to ask my dad (who emigrated TO South Africa in the 50’s), “why can’t we go and live in Holland Daddy?” I knew from a very young age that South Africa was not a good ‘fit’ for me. My mom was also born here, but her dad’s family were Germans from the old “South West Africa”, so I suppose deep down those genes were having an effect on me too. If I look at my sons, only one of their grandparents was born here (my mom), the others were born in Holland, Scotland, and Kenya (during the colonial times). Makes me sincerely hope that the whole xenophobia thing that’s happening right now doesn’t spread in our direction if you know what I mean…

    May 26, 2008 at 9:45 am

  10. Wenchy

    You already know my answer. I am big time, always African… hips included.

    May 26, 2008 at 2:10 pm

  11. I’m an American. 4th generation born in the U.S. My Dad’s family came from Germany, my mom’s from both Europe(not sure exactly–England?) and we have Native American roots. We are supposed to refer to black people as African American. But how do we know their heritage is African? Could they be Jamaican, Haitian, etc for example? Are Jamaican Americans irritated to be undistinguished from other people of color? I don’t know how to address anyone anymore. I just kind of bumble around and hope not to offend.

    May 29, 2008 at 6:51 am

Leave a Reply

