Super Mom

Mornings

This is the one thing that I just can’t get properly organized.  The one time of the day that has me stressed out.  The one routine that just seems to be without routine.

I know my boys are still small.  I know that things won’t run like a well oiled machine but oh. my. word. they have the ability to drive me to the edge of insanity some mornings!

Like today.  I had to tell them a zillion times to get dressed.  I got out of the bathroom to find both of them sitting on my bed (in the middle of winter) with only their underpants….huh?  Then I ask Jay to put on his socks, just to find him playing with cards on his bed.  Begging them to brush their teeth.  Comb there hair.  Over and over and over again. 

I got to work my folks home extremely frustrated, when my mom said I shouldn’t.  It is my duty to make sure they get to school on time.  That they are still small and I need to get them ready.  That I should understand that they are still small and need help.  Yes. I agree that I can’t just wake them up and then without warning tell them to get into the car to leave for school. However, ALL they have to do is get dressed, brush their teeth and comb their hair.  Breakfast is already dished up.  Bags packed.  They have 45 minutes to do just that…dress, teeth, hair.  45 minutes!

Funny how they can get ready in 5 minutes if I tell them we are going somewhere fun tough! 

 

14 responses

  1. Isis

    I paid my daughter with stickers and other to her important stuff to do what she was supposed to do. Still works – with money nowadays.
    🙂
    Am reading the news worrying about you all down there. Please be safe.

    May 26, 2008 at 4:32 pm

  2. Amen sister. I could have written this post. Our kids are the same age…..

    A friend agrees with your mom. Apparently we should dress them etc. Ja right> our eldest kids are 7 / 8 for Petes sake!!!

    May 26, 2008 at 5:15 pm

  3. I have an idea – how about making them a list – a list that isn’t a list, but a series of photos i.e.

    1. Get out of bed is a photo of them ‘getting out of bed’
    2. a photo of school clothes means get dressed
    3. a photo of the toothbrush and paste means brush your teeth etc

    then you arrange these on a poster – and tell them where they have to be on the ‘list’ by a certain time, then you set the alarm clock for say 20 minutes from the time they get up (or however long you think) and the first one done gets a chocolate after school or something. But then you make a rule saying they have to help each other or something -just to make sure that Zander isn’t always last or something.

    Just an idea..something I might try when my boys are a bit bigger. The whole ‘racing/timing’ thing is already working for Bubbs.

    May 26, 2008 at 5:48 pm

  4. mybloggylife

    I’m already stressed about going back to work and having to get two kids ready to go to daycare, not to mention school – yipes!

    May 26, 2008 at 5:57 pm

  5. Wenchy

    Some mornings are fine and other mornings… whooooaaahhhhhhhh!!!!

    May 26, 2008 at 5:57 pm

  6. lol a few days at my sisters would fix them, sis sets a time they must be out of the house by, and that’s the time they leave ready or not, a few days of getting in the car in underwear only does wonders, the boys are waiting by the door on time now

    May 26, 2008 at 10:19 pm

  7. I guess it’s like that in all household with children. I have only one and I do beg, scream and ask my daughter over and over again to wake up, eat breakfast, dress up, brush…etc…etc!

    May 27, 2008 at 2:57 am

  8. then perhaps you should tell them all mornings that you are going somewhere fun. 🙂

    i wonder how hard being a parent can really be!?!?! i think Ness’ got a good idea. and markus, you got me lafin’…

    May 27, 2008 at 4:44 am

  9. mamma moose

    Don’t worry, you are not the only mom that feels this way, it might be in their genes, I have the exact same problem every morning. Goodluck.

    May 27, 2008 at 9:35 am

  10. Normal

    OMGosh…..Morning chaos…..
    I have already threatened to take my daughter to school in her jammies if she is not ready on time!!! I don’t have a getting dressed problem, I have the taking an hour to eat breakfast problem!!!!!
    I would love to say it gets better…even if just to convince myself….hee hee

    May 27, 2008 at 10:45 am

  11. Moaning Myrtle

    Again, I don’t know how you do it. I can’t get myself ready in the mornings LOL. Hope you doing well and had a good weekend. xx

    May 27, 2008 at 1:17 pm

  12. My morning routine can make or break my whole day!!! I know EXACTLY what it’s all about. Do you sometimes get the feeling you the ONLY ONE RUSHING?????

    May 27, 2008 at 2:48 pm

  13. We got a big 75 lb dog that climbs in bed with them and licks their faces til they wake up. If that doesn’t work, he pulls the blankets off with his teeth. Its fun! I one day had to dress my son while still in bed, and pull him out by his feet. I’ve sent my daughter to school with messy hair, no teeth brushed(ick), no breakfast. Now I just have one in school yet so the others can climb into the truck in pajamas and slippers or bare feet if they don’t hurry. Next year will be harder with 2 in school and one 4 year old. I guess for me I have to decide how far I am willing to go–late for school, improperly dressed, mussed, etc–to help them take responsibility. Still working that one out.

    May 29, 2008 at 6:57 am

  14. Face it Mel… woman are just plain better at the multi-tasking thing than men. My boys can’t seem to get moving in the morning and get things done. BTW… that includes my husband.

    May 29, 2008 at 8:48 pm

Leave a Reply

