Super Mom

Fixing a sad day

Do not mess with my children. Ever. No matter who you are.

Yesterday I got so upset at school that I had an immediately migraine afterwards. Quintus teacher has been off sick for 3 weeks now and will be for another month. He is normally in a class of just 14 kids and this has worked out absolutely wonderful for him. With her being gone though, he is now in a class of 40. Big change that. Ever since he was moved to the temporary teacher, she has had problems with him. He has stayed behind during breaks for talking or not listening or a zillion different things. Things he never did with the old teacher. Clearly the bigger class is not working for him and he needs to be moved as the friend(s) next to him is making it difficult for him to concentrate. I have talked to him about this and he knows that he needs to concentrate more and not talk. It’s just difficult for him if the guys keep on tapping him on the shoulder and starting conversations.

Slowly but certainly I have been starting to dislike this teacher. It feels as though she has gone through no trouble to try and understand him. That she plainly just doesn’t like him and is making school most unpleasant for him at the moment.

Yesterday when I went to pick him up from school, he said that this has been his worst day yet. Our school has an absolutely wonderful positive motivation system. There’s five levels that kids can reach. Each level with its own perks. The kids work hard for this and it’s not everyone that gets it. Clearly this is something special. Quintus reached level 2 the day before (one of the first kids to do so in his grade) and I had to complete a form that showed that I knew about this. However because of a misunderstanding that was probably more my fault than his, the slip stayed behind in the car. When he couldn’t produce the slip to his teacher she told him that he will now not get any of the 2nd level perks and will also not be able to do so in future.

I was so ticked. She did not give him the opportunity to bring it the next day. It was just a letter to inform us of his achievement. Here she was taking a positive motivation system and using it to demotivate him!  He worked so hard for it and she took it away because of one little letter. One letter that was only sent out to impress the parents.

I fumed. I was sooooo upset. I walked to the car, got that slip and marched right on back to her class. With Quintus begging me not to be angry at her. There was no way I would allow her to get away with this. Of course when he stood there with the slip in his hand and his mom next to him, she was the sweetest liar teacher and told him to go get his surprise for reaching level 2.

Idiot. Was it that hard? Was it that difficult to reward him for his hard work? Some teachers really don’t care about the children. Those teachers (especially when they reach her age) need to move on home. Go sit on the veranda, stroke the cat and knit socks for the other old people.

14 responses

  1. Oh, isn’t it just awful, Mel, what our kids go through at school. I know what you mean about teachers and breaking children’s confidence in themselves. CJ has a teacher at aftercare that no matter what goes wrong she blames him for it … I have now gone as far as asking her EVERYDAY about his behaviour and I do it with my son standing next to me. I HATE IT MOST WHEN SHE GIVES ME THAT FALSE SMILE …

    May 29, 2008 at 8:42 am

  2. I *totally* agree. My Std 2 teacher was one of those ‘need to be knitting’ people. What a cow…I still get chills thinking about her.

    May 29, 2008 at 8:55 am

  3. Wenchy

    That is not proper behavior. I am so glad you gave her a bit of that.

    May 29, 2008 at 11:26 am

  4. i hate that, SO unnecessary!!! totally defeats the object of the exercise

    May 29, 2008 at 1:43 pm

  5. I know exactly what you mean with the teachers! We have a sort of pattern going on with our school. Kindergarden was awful, first grade was good, second grade was bad, and now third grade is good. I’m speaking of the teachers. His first teacher expected him to act 12 when he was only five. They suspened him from school for FIVE DAYS IN KINDERGARDEN for spitting. My son doesn’t spit, he can barely spit after getting his teeth brushed…. I’m sure he was provoked by other kids… other kids that didn’t get suspended. She was on the phone to me nearly every day. First grade teacher was awesome, she genuinely cared about my son and I could tell she was putting out extra effort to see he had a good year, same with third grade. His second grade teacher was a total whiner and was always calling me or emailing me whining about my son. My son is ADHD and takes medication to help him get through school. He is a lot to handle, but they are professionals at handling children, or so they should be.

    I don’t know what I would do in your situation, do they not have substitute teachers that can fill in for the smaller class until she returns? I guess not if they have moved them to another class. The motivation system sounds great, too bad that teacher had to be that way about it.

    This year my son’s teacher gave me her home phone number and told me to call at any time if I had any questions or needed to know about homework assignments.

    Good luck, and I hope your son’s teacher comes back sooner than expected!

    May 29, 2008 at 2:15 pm

  6. jenty

    I quite understand how you got worked up about that.
    Surely they can get a temp teacher in for his class without combining the classes, considering the length of time his teacher is going to be away?

    May 29, 2008 at 3:45 pm

  7. I would have done the exact same thing. Walker gets a prize if he doesn’t lose any blocks for an entire month. Needless to say he hasn’t gotten a prize yet but he has improved dramically. For the month of May he didn’t lose a block until the 16th. He was so upset he came home crying and said that he lost a block. So my question is what is the motivation for the rest of the month. I agree that some teacher obviously don’t want to be there and take it out on the kids. I have had my share of run in’s with the teacher as well. They are sweet as pie when you go talk to them. I will be glad when it is in 1st grade. He only has a few weeks to go. From us (my husband and I) have a surprize of our own waiting for him for his achievements – a brand new red bike for his last day. He has no idea and I can’t wait to see his face.

    May 29, 2008 at 3:47 pm

  8. good on you! I woulda stormed the gates aswell.

    May 29, 2008 at 7:04 pm

  9. my3boysandi

    Im sori you got a migraine. I would have done the same thing. I dont know how old the teacher is but I totally agree that sometimes they get too old. I have seen it happen many times over. I pray for Quintus. And pray too that his teacher will be back sooner than expected and he gets into a smaller class again.

    May 30, 2008 at 1:54 am

  10. some teachers don’t actually love children esp those who are not parents themselves. and usually, parents have to show the world how much they love their children for the world to consciously treat them(the kids) with care. that’s why my mama never scolded us in public places. people might think it’s ok to do the same(to us). the same is true with husbands and wives, i think.

    May 30, 2008 at 7:16 am

  11. amen sister! Good for you for going in to defend your son. I hate when the nasty old teachers stay too long. My husband is a teacher and has seen and heard some rotten things from other teachers–talking about students behind their backs hatefully. Grow up and BE THE ADULT!!! Sorry. Got carried away.

    May 30, 2008 at 3:17 pm

  12. Oh dear…what a charmer 😦 Glad you put her in her place Mel!! I hope Quintus starts to feel more comfortbale and things get better soon…chin up 🙂
    xoxo

    June 3, 2008 at 10:01 am

  13. ooh those olden-day-school-marms so make my life a misery mel. i can totally sympathise! good for you for making her give q what he’d worked for.

    June 3, 2008 at 7:18 pm

  14. Pingback: She must have taken him with her « Super Mom …. or not

Leave a Reply

