Super Mom

TV Licences

Our local TV family soapy, used their episode last night to scare remind everyone that they should be paying their TV licenses. 
We have four channels that are basically for free, however you do need to pay for a TV license once a year. 
This is all find and dandy.  Pay your license and you get to see the channels.  Don’t and you still get to see the channels…unless they catch you and you will then pay a penalty.
 
Now I have never had one.  I’ve never paid for one.  I pay for DSTV.  Part of that includes the ‘free’ channels.  So indirectly by paying my DSTV every month I already pay for those channels.  They get paid by DSTV.  I only watch those channels through my DSTV, so why do I have to pay for them again?  I need to have a TV to be able to watch DSTV.  Now because I have a TV I need to pay a license fee?  For the TV that I bought?  With my own money?  To watch channels I already pay for?
 
I detest the fact that they want to force us to pay for the same service twice. 
7 responses

  1. moenie so pedanties en middle klas wees nie! (soos paula sal se)

    hehe

    i hear you 😉

    June 19, 2008 at 1:53 pm

  2. hahahhahahaha dit was nou baie oulik van jou vriendin

    June 19, 2008 at 2:06 pm

  3. So do I. It’s a crock of sh*t really. If we have to pay TV licenses for those (crappy!) channels then there should be NO adverts. That’s my oppinion!

    June 19, 2008 at 3:30 pm

  4. I agree. But I paid. Only cos I needed a new tv and couldnt get one without a licence. They will milk you if they can…. do you know you are sposed to have a dog licence PER dog??? Asse – bloody – blief. Vir wat wil ek vra??? i would gladly pay if someone came to pick up the POOP everyday! *grin*

    June 19, 2008 at 7:16 pm

  5. don’t get me started on the subject of tv licences

    June 19, 2008 at 7:27 pm

  6. CP

    I get the dog license PER dog- because here, each dog is supposed to wear its license on its collar. But having a TV license for receiving what is being broadcast for free to those who do not pay? Very unfair.

    June 19, 2008 at 8:51 pm

  7. i pay mine… always have.

    June 23, 2008 at 10:03 pm

Leave a Reply

