Super Mom

Love languages

I think the book “5 Languages of Love” is wonderful.  Speaks volumes and makes you realize that people sometimes do love the ‘wrong’ way.  I have thought about this often.   Tried to find my main love language and in a way I have been lying to myself.  Unwilling to accept the language that does mean something to mean.  Maybe as much or more than quality time.

Receiving gifts.  That’s one of my main love languages.  Why did I battle to admit this to myself?  I’m not materialistic.  That’s why.  I would hate for people to think that I am.  I’m much more of a giver.  I will share my stuff and give things away without thinking twice. 

The thing is that receiving gifts (for me) makes me feel that the other person thought of me.  Without me prompting.  Without me having to be there.  This person put thought into getting me something.  I don’t need it to be expensive by any means but do not think twice if you want to buy me a new lens or diamonds or …. It can be a flower out of the garden.  I picture drawn by my kids.  Tommie bringing Wimpy coffee when he comes to the office.

I have realized this about myself and it feels good.  It feels good to be able to share that with my husband and explain that this is my love language.

Sjoe sometimes it can be so hard to understand ourselves and then even harder to just express it.

12 responses

  1. i’ve heard so much about this book, sounds great! to love yourself is often the hardest don’t you think?

    June 26, 2008 at 11:38 am

  2. I am interested in this book. Cos it is an art that we all paint wrongly.

    June 26, 2008 at 11:56 am

  3. No doubt. It’s so easy to love and share and give to others. Time, gifts,
    hugs everything. Yet it’s so hard to do so for ourselves

    June 26, 2008 at 12:06 pm

  4. Wenchy

    Is a wonderful book that and even better when you can put it into place… my love language is quality time…. and then words of affirmation…. although the two is very close in my beed category!

    June 26, 2008 at 12:39 pm

  5. Gen

    It is a great book and I really enjoyed it too!!!!

    June 26, 2008 at 2:03 pm

  6. I have never read the book – cos I hate reading. When I see you next time you will have to tell me about the 5 things… 🙂

    Read the book and tell me the story. LOL

    June 26, 2008 at 2:34 pm

  7. lol Jaxie. We can have a long discussion about it STILL say we must do it at that spa!

    June 26, 2008 at 3:21 pm

  8. Well written. (: Thanks for leaving the comment on my blog. Have a wonderful day.

    June 26, 2008 at 4:21 pm

  9. Yup, usually “givers” receive love by “receiving” because they express love that way …they receive that way aswell.

    My love language is acts of service. I really like my man to help with kids, DIy etc. But his is physical affection (not sex!!) so we do “hit and miss” sometimes….but if everyone understood how their partner receives loves it would make many marriages last waaayyyy longer.

    June 26, 2008 at 4:27 pm

  10. I think I should read that. And you are absolutely right, giving and receiving is more about the thought put behind the gift than the gift itself. Kudos to you.

    Bekah

    June 26, 2008 at 6:45 pm

  11. jenty

    Sounds like a fascinating book!

    June 27, 2008 at 11:43 am

  12. We are very similar. My thoughts exactly. Doesn’t have to be expensive (although camera equipment or apple products very welcome), but I *do* love gifts!!

    June 27, 2008 at 8:27 pm

Leave a Reply

