Super Mom

Alarm

I lie there, trying to day dream myself into sleep.  No seriously.  These days I don’t just fall asleep.  I have to ‘day dream’ before hopefully falling asleep.  Horrible feeling that.  Being worried that just maybe you won’t fall asleep.

Finally my dream takes over reality and I drift off to the land of the Sandman.  Just.  Then the house alarm goes off.  There is NOTHING that gets your heart rate up so quickly as being woken up from deep sleep to your home alarm going off in South Africa.

Withing milliseconds I’m trying to figure out how I’m going to protect the kids, when I realize Tommie is up and walking through the house already.  I grab my cellphone, with my finger right on the emergency button…just in case. 

In the end we figure out it’s the main bedroom that set off the alarm and all is fine and well in our room.  I keep the phone with me as the security company should be phoning to hear if everything is okay.  I lie there…phone on my chest…waiting for the call.  Nothing.  I’m almost asleep – this time without the help of day dreaming – when I realize I still have the phone on my chest.  No call.  15 Minutes later.  I put the phone on silent (and vibrating) in case they phone, since I don’t want it to wake up Zander or Tommie.

No call.

It’s now 12 : 19 pm.  It’s the next day already and I’m still waiting for the call.

Much help they are.

12 responses

  1. Sounds like the “fantastic” finger print people we are still waiting to come to my mom’s place. URGH. Useless people.

    July 3, 2008 at 12:44 pm

  2. Oh yes. We used to have armed response. When I still lived with my Dad. The house was broken into (thank god no one was home). 10 minutes later, the neighbors called us to say the alarm was going off. 15 minutes later we arrived home, and called the police. Twenty minutes later the police arrived (pretty snappy of them actually). A full 45 MINUTES after the police arrived, the armed response showed up. Lovely hey?

    July 3, 2008 at 1:26 pm

  3. ha ha ha …….sounds so much like the security we have coutry wide ….. inconvienient ….never arrive on time …..or not at all …….nevertheless woman are always left waiting to end the monor details at a cost ….sleep!!

    July 3, 2008 at 2:06 pm

  4. Wenchy

    “Being worried that just maybe you won’t fall asleep” – I know that one well…

    July 3, 2008 at 2:56 pm

  5. I know the lying awake feeling too.

    And you are going to call and ask them what happened, right? Ask them why no one called? They are supposed to call right? What the heck?

    Thank heavens it was a false alarm.

    Hugs

    July 3, 2008 at 3:05 pm

  6. A lot of these security companies are really ridiculous, but quick to process our debit orders!!

    July 3, 2008 at 3:50 pm

  7. FV

    Our monitoring center would be in so much crap for that. I work for a security company of course we mainly monitoring large corporations but we do provide security for some larger homes in the area. If we didn’t call within one minute we would be fired. Who was in the main bedroom?

    July 3, 2008 at 4:03 pm

  8. CP

    I’ve read your posts about the horrible home invasion crimes and I can’t even imagine how scared you were when that alarm went off.

    Did you get any sleep last night? I hope you did eventually!

    July 3, 2008 at 8:01 pm

  9. Jenty

    Useless people! All security companies in this place are the same!

    July 3, 2008 at 8:30 pm

  10. i’m so lucky my place backs on to docks and there is a docks police post just 20 metres away and a royal navy unit 1500 metres away, when my old neghbours alarm went off she had docks police and sailors inside her place with in 90 seconds

    July 3, 2008 at 9:51 pm

  11. Yup, been there. Armed, immediate response my foot!

    July 4, 2008 at 8:10 am

  12. Isis

    gone mentally through the roof because the alarm went off – been there done that. No response from the alarm company? Can’t even imagine that. Especially in your country. Wishing you all the best.

    July 4, 2008 at 4:15 pm

Leave a Reply

