Super Mom

The road is long…

My brother and his family lives roughly 610 km from us. That’s over 7 hours if you stop. Which we do. I have three boys. We stop. At least once.

Every time we go there, I promise myself that I will not again. Not just for a weekend. It has to be for at least 5 days. However, the kids nag ask so often that we do end up going. I complain all the way. The kids don’t. They obviously handle the long distance better than me lol

But then I see the kids with their cousins and how much fun they have together and it’s all worth it. I wish we lived closer together.
There’s a house for sale next to my brother’s home and my boys asked us about a zillion times if we can buy that house. I think that would be their ideal world. Especially if my folks could move in right across or next to us. Not so sure how ideal it would be for the adults though!

9 responses

  1. It’s great the kids all get along so well. I dont see my bro’s kids at all (they’re 8 and 7 anyway – much older than mine) and my SIL’s kids are well…let’s just say ‘not suitable playmates’ and leave it at that 🙂 har har.

    July 8, 2008 at 4:57 pm

  2. My kids were the same way, but my sisters lived 14 hours drive away. We went about once a year. My parents, brother, 2 sisters all live within a 2 mile radius of each other and get together often. There were many times I was sad we lived so far away. Then I’d hear of some big drama and was thankful we weren’t closer, lol. Wish there was a happy medium.

    July 8, 2008 at 5:35 pm

  3. My son sees his cousins all the time and they fight like cats and dogs. It’s gotten to the point that he doesn’t even want to go to his aunt’s (his dad’s sister) house anymore.

    So I guess there’s two sides to everything.

    Of course, maybe it’s just these kids, they are pretty rough with each other.

    July 8, 2008 at 7:11 pm

  4. jenty

    Sounds like they have a ball!

    July 8, 2008 at 10:26 pm

  5. my3boysandi

    my sister lives 4 to 5 hours away
    I havent seen her in a couple of years
    I miss her LOADS

    the petrol is too expensive to go to see them 😦

    wonderful photo I like the tree they are sitting in to

    July 9, 2008 at 3:46 am

  6. My kids have their dream house all figured out. Problem is, they will have to get VERY lucrative employment if they ever want to see that house exist!

    July 9, 2008 at 8:20 am

  7. Wenchy

    Nee ek dink nie jy moet nog verder weg trek nie

    July 9, 2008 at 10:42 am

  8. bigmama

    What a wonderful trip…they will forever remember that tree!!

    July 10, 2008 at 2:47 pm

  9. i wish they lived closer to you too.

    July 10, 2008 at 9:27 pm

Leave a Reply

