Super Mom

Forgetfulness

I’m really worried about myself.  I’m really irritated with myself.

I forget.  All the time.  Not just the common, everyday forgetfulness.  I do not remember a lot of things that I should.  I forget the names of objects.  Things I’m supposed to do (although many people forget stuff like this)  Just this morning, I could remember the client that was in my office early on.  I mean I did eventually but I really had to try and put the puzzle together.

I hate this.  I hate forgetting. I hate that I have to really really think of the names of objects.  It’s not like me.  It’s not as though I don’t use my mind.  I do sit all day long keeping my mind active with the work I do.

10 responses

  1. I tell everyone I lost my mind when my son was born nine years ago. I used to have a mind like a steel trap, now I have a mind like a seive. I forget the silliest things, I forget some important things too. I lose my keys at least three times a week, and yes, I have been late to work because of it.
    I think that (for me) when I had my son my priorities shifted, my mind is now consumed with him, taking care of him, etc… so there is less working memory devoted to me. It is what it is. My boss gave me the name of a good herbal supplement but I FORGOT IT. Maybe I’ll ask him again today and then pass on the info to you.

    Many hugs.
    Bekah

    July 10, 2008 at 2:39 pm

  2. Lecithin. That’s what it was, and yes, I did have to ask him!

    July 10, 2008 at 2:45 pm

  3. I’m very forgetful! I think this is part of being a busy working mom!!

    July 10, 2008 at 5:00 pm

  4. mel- it sounds to me like you need a bloody long holiday far away from everything, and a PA!

    July 10, 2008 at 9:21 pm

  5. revjennings

    Seriously, you don’t know me from Adam, I just stumbled across your blog here, but it sounds like you should see a doctor. Have him/her review medications you are on, they can cause forgetfulness. You could have a serious medical condiction. Don’t ignore it. See a doctor!

    July 10, 2008 at 10:23 pm

  6. I forget things when my mind is too full and my days too hectic. In fact, I rely on a careful system of props designed by Microsoft (MSOutlook and MSOneNote)to keep up with everything I have to keep up with.

    In fact (going into full rant mode) it is REALLY unfair all of the things we have to keep in our heads… In addition to all the things we track at work, we also need to know family shoe sizes, who needs new underwear, a running tabular grocery list, birthdays of family and friends, if the dogs were given water this morning or if the car needs gas… It is truly a wonder my head hasn’t exploded.

    With all of that said, if it seems to come/go check out the supplement or medication thing. Beyond that…can you simply take a nap?

    July 10, 2008 at 11:48 pm

  7. I forget things too. Simple things… mostly those that require a little short term memory action. I’m sure it’s not Alzheimers, but just the fact that I’m doing the thinking for pretty much everyone in this family. Even the cats.

    July 11, 2008 at 3:22 am

  8. Oh can I relate my friend. I have to return to a room where I had a thought to retrieve it since I walked into another and forgot it! I’ve heard supplements can help too. If its really worrying you, most definitely see a doctor. At least its an hour you can get for yourself!

    July 11, 2008 at 6:22 am

  9. Isis

    welcome to the club of forgetful overloaded moms.
    As a neurologist once told me: As long as you don’t know where your keys are, you are basically ok. When you can’t remember any more what a key is or don’t recognize a key, THEN you are in real trouble aka Alzheimers. Look at the bright side: you are still ok. 😉

    July 11, 2008 at 7:54 am

  10. Wenchy

    Soon we will have to shoot you

    July 11, 2008 at 2:14 pm

Leave a Reply

