Super Mom

Why ask?!

What is it with people who ask for advice or your opinion when they want to hear THEMSELVES and not what you have to say? 

I get it so often in my office.  “Do you think I’ll be able to claim this as a business expense?”   “No.  It’s private and SARS will see it as that as well.  I wouldn’t take the chance to claim it”  “But….”  URGH

What frustrated me about this today is when my MIL phoned and asked what size clothing Jason wears.  My kids are average sized.  Have always been.  He turns 6 on the 31st.  So if you want to buy him something, buy 6 – 7 year old.  Easy right?  NNNnnnnoooooooo  She wants to buy him 7 – 8.  Why?  He still fits into most of his 5 year old clothes.  Why buy something way bigger, that he won’t be able to wear.  I tried to very sweetly explain that but she wanted none of it.  I’m sure he’ll get 7 – 8 year old clothing for his birthday.  That he can’t wear.  That I’ll have to pack away till next year, when he gets something too big to wear again but then at least he will have this.

On the up side – They do buy a gift.

11 responses

  1. Irritating huh!!! I know I know!!!

    July 15, 2008 at 3:14 pm

  2. I think those people really just want to hear themselves talk. They want someone to agree with them and keep talking until they find someone who will. Then they are happy.

    Would it help to tell your MIL that you made a mistake. After looking at most of his clothes they are mostly 5’s, so 6-7 is the next step up, not 7-8? That is what I’d do.

    My grandson’s “other” grandparents do the opposite. I told them on his 5th birthday he was wearing a size 5-6. They want him to stay “a baby.” They bought him all 4’s.

    July 15, 2008 at 4:32 pm

  3. Rebekah

    My mom insists on buying my son big clothes too, and then wonders why he’s not wearing them.

    It’s the curse of grandmothers… haha.

    July 15, 2008 at 5:38 pm

  4. I completely understand! My boys are bigger than average, and no matter how many times we mention it, we are always getting clothes that are too small. So irritating!

    July 15, 2008 at 5:39 pm

  5. Can I be a pooper? … isn’t she the same grandmother that doesn’t visit her grandchildren when she’s in the neighbourhood? At least she gets him something for his birthday!!! Ha ha ha

    Oh btw, I can so identify with Rebekah’s comment 😉

    July 15, 2008 at 7:36 pm

  6. my mum says he’ll grow into it

    July 15, 2008 at 8:37 pm

  7. MIL were all created evil. That’s right, I said ‘evil’ not ‘equal’. Or perhaps they’re all equally evil. hah. Look here, mine’s coming to stay for THREE MONTHS. I win! (tongue stuck out)

    July 15, 2008 at 8:46 pm

  8. Isis

    Some people only ask rhetoric questions, and they only hear the answer they want.
    And I have to agree with Ness. In-laws are created …. The difference between them and outlaws is that outlaws are actually wanted.
    And, yeah, look at the bright side, at least she is getting a present.

    July 16, 2008 at 7:05 am

  9. Wenchy

    as you say…. at least they buy a gift!

    July 16, 2008 at 12:45 pm

  10. pressies are always cool, but i don’t get why some people insist on doing things contrary to what the mommy says!!

    July 21, 2008 at 8:03 am

  11. and you’re right- why’d she even ask?!?!?

    July 21, 2008 at 8:04 am

Leave a Reply

