Super Mom

Sleep-over

He was so big.  So adamant.  So convinced that he could do this.

From early this morning Zander said that he wanted to sleep at my mom’s house.  He made this clear in no uncertain terms and wouldn’t even come home with me after work to get his clothes.  Just Ouma.  I was very proud of my ‘big’ boy.

He was absolutely fine, right up until lights-off.  Then he wanted Mommy or he wanted the lights on!

He has slept there before but then his brothers slept there too.  He totally adores my mom and dad and I think could easily trade me in for them.  Tonight though, tonight he needed Mommy.  I did not mind one little bit to jump into my car, way after 9 o’clock in 9 degrees Celsius (as per my car), without shoes to go get my little boy.

Let’s face it…deep down, we want them to want us.  No matter how proud we are of them becoming more and more independent.

9 responses

  1. my3boysandi

    awwwwwww bless him

    youve great parents Mel

    July 18, 2008 at 4:47 am

  2. I know how that goes. My heart melts when Brody wants nobody but me. =)

    July 18, 2008 at 5:08 am

  3. Isis

    Kids get independent waaaaaaay too fast. Enjoy them as long as you can. – Speaking from the perspective of a mom of a teenager.
    What’s wrong with 9C???

    July 18, 2008 at 7:47 am

  4. Oh, the things we do for love for our children!!! 🙂

    July 18, 2008 at 9:27 am

  5. nessdrovers

    I agree! We do want them to want us. Except when we want to take long interrupted bubble baths, then we want them to want daddy 🙂 hee hee.

    July 18, 2008 at 10:41 am

  6. nessdrovers

    I meant to say ‘UNinterrupted’ bubble baths!

    July 18, 2008 at 10:41 am

  7. I have been thinking about this constantly lately as the first day of first grade seems to be looming over me. Once I send him off all day, every day I feel as if I am losing him for good. I will be cherishing bedtimes even more than I already do for connection time with him.

    July 19, 2008 at 5:04 am

  8. brandii

    I call those times “almost sleepovers”. In fact I plan for them. Works well for us 🙂

    July 19, 2008 at 5:25 pm

  9. aaaww sweet…

    July 21, 2008 at 7:58 am

Leave a Reply

