Super Mom

First cricket match

Cricket season started this week. Once again the most fantastic my dad took the responsibility upon himself and he is the main coach and organizer for the kiddies cricket (ages 5 – 9)

I help as well however taking into consideration that the only cricket I have ever played is action cricket, I might do more harm than good lol No seriously it’s all in the spirit of fun.

The interesting thing is that it is mostly moms who are willing to coach! Actually come to think of it, most of the mom’s aren’t even willing. I have begged asked the moms who stand there doing nothing anyway, to just help us out. Just to keep the kid’s attention focused. Make sure they don’t start their own game on the side 🙂 But they will not. Point blank say no. (Oh but then they stand and judge so harshly)

Anyway. We had our first game today. They played so well. It’s just so adorable to watch. My dad was amazing. I admire his commitment to my kids (as I do my mom’s who is probably their biggest supporter)

The boys loved it. It’s such a gentleman’s sport and I’m glad that the other coaches played it like that as well. Helping our kids and us helping theirs.

And the best of all!!?? Both the boys got a wicket!!!

13 responses

  1. I’m such a silly American…I don’t really know what cricket is. Can you enlighten me?

    July 26, 2008 at 6:39 pm

  2. Here you go 🙂
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cricket

    July 26, 2008 at 8:03 pm

  3. Hay

    Oh that is so exciting….I thought cricket was summer…is it indoor?

    July 26, 2008 at 8:33 pm

  4. You are right, it is a summer sport. Will be warm here pretty soon again

    July 26, 2008 at 8:50 pm

  5. my3boysandi

    WTG to your boys, your dad and to you too

    July 26, 2008 at 11:14 pm

  6. That is so precious!

    July 27, 2008 at 12:14 am

  7. bigmama

    This is the best time isn’t it – when we are chasing after our kids to all these wonderful sporting events! You are so blessed to have such a special father! Enjoy!

    July 27, 2008 at 1:29 am

  8. Howzaaaaaaaat!!

    July 27, 2008 at 9:46 am

  9. the current hysteria in the Uk, means the males aren’t taking up or have stopped coaching, I’ve stopped coaching rugby as the Red tape, costs and how some of the parents react have put me off

    July 27, 2008 at 10:53 am

  10. John and I watched cricket when we were in Jamaica and absolutely, positively couldn’t figure out the point…lol. Never thought to consult wikipedia!

    July 27, 2008 at 9:44 pm

  11. Wenchy

    I’ve read this one already!

    July 28, 2008 at 3:22 pm

  12. Mom Archer

    Great going boys Ouma is so PROUD !!!!

    July 28, 2008 at 5:24 pm

  13. yay for supermom’s boys!

    July 31, 2008 at 11:19 pm

Leave a Reply

