Super Mom

You grow up too quickly

I held on to your hand as tightly as you held on to mine.  I carried your bag.  Goodbye was sincere.  A tight hug, even a kiss.  You wouldn’t walk to class alone.  I had to walk with you. 

This was just a couple of months ago.  This year still.  This year when you needed that comfort from me. 

No longer do I walk you to your class.  No longer do you hold on to my hand that tightly.  There’s a backward glance and a quick goodbye, sometimes even a ‘love you Mom’, before you walk through the gates.

You grow up too quickly my son. 

You lead your brother to do so too quickly as well.  Too soon.  He doesn’t need me to walk him to class.  No hug before school.  Just a kiss through the window and “I love you Mom” before he walks with you.

You grow up too quickly.

I’m thankful that I still get a hug when I pick you up after school.  That your brother still jumps into my arms when he sees me on the playground.  That you still hug each other as I pick you up at school.

I hope those hugs turn into high 5’s.  Not too soon though.

You grow up too quickly.

11 responses

  1. That was so sweet. Yes, they grow up way too fast. But I suspect that even if your boys get to the point of not wanting to be seen hugging their mom, they will most certainly come back around.

    With my son, that only lasted for a couple of years at age 13-14. By high school, he had no problem walking through the mall with his arm around his mom, or saying “love you” when with his friends.

    July 28, 2008 at 6:02 pm

  2. Yes indeed, way too fast. My little boy, my BABY… he’s going to be TEN next year! I can’t even think about double digits right now. It’s too hard. I was just holding him in my arms all bundled up in a blankie… I swear, it was just like yesterday.
    I want another. I want two more actually. I could go for three, but I don’t know if I will be able to financially support that many. They will grow up way too fast too.

    Thank you for sharing this, it was nice to read.

    Many hugs.

    Bek

    July 28, 2008 at 6:38 pm

  3. Mom Archer

    Imagine how I feel.. YOU are my baby Melany and I know how you are feeling.

    Mom

    xxxx

    July 28, 2008 at 6:55 pm

  4. They do grow up too quickly. My younger one starts school in a few weeks. It will be hard to see them walk into school together hand and hand… but a proud moment as well.

    July 28, 2008 at 8:17 pm

  5. Awww, man. I think that I should REALLY treasure this toddler time that we have now. Luke goes off to preschool this fall ~ hard to believe.

    July 28, 2008 at 8:42 pm

  6. Just yesterday I was looking at ‘Flipper’ and thinking, damnit – he’s already not a newborn anymore!!!

    I said to my mom, “I can understand why people have 5 kids” to try to hold onto the babyness.

    Oh well I suppose it’s life. I wonder how much we’re changing with them?

    July 29, 2008 at 7:47 am

  7. mybloggylife

    Beautiful post, Mel!

    July 29, 2008 at 8:22 am

  8. I love this post and I love your mom’s comment!!!

    Yes, I also move into double digits next year and can’t decide whether I am sad or excited. My baby girl will be going to school next year … so yes, I know how that feels.

    Thanks Mel for sharing your feelings like this 😉

    July 29, 2008 at 10:31 am

  9. Pingback: Mixed Feelings « Addie’s Random Ramblings

  10. I really like your writing – thanks for sharing your experience with us.

    July 31, 2008 at 7:55 pm

  11. they do grow up so very fast… just the other day my little boy was holding my hand and walking in to nursery school.

    July 31, 2008 at 11:16 pm

Leave a Reply

