Super Mom

Now I feel bad

I have mentioned before that I coach mini-cricket at school. 

This afternoon during practise there was this one little boy who laughed at the other boys who battled to bowl.  I warned him that if he laughs again, I’m going to have him sit out.  Not two seconds later, he was laughing at a kid again.  I sent him off.  I’m not letting any kid make the others feel embarrassed.  He threw a tantrum that would make any 2 year old jealous.  Full on with hands, feet en alles!

I just asked one of the other little guys to go call him, when his mother walked up to him.  Oh shit she’s going to kill me.  I told her why I let him sit out but that he could join us again. 

She said that she had warned him about throwing a tantrum and that they will be leaving.  That he won’t be coming to cricket practise again.

Now I feel bad.  I did not mean for him to never play again.  I just wanted him to sit out until it was his turn.

10 responses

  1. my3boysandi

    maybe he had been misbehaving at home and this is his mothers way of teaching him a lesson

    I can understand how you feel
    however he sounds like hed been treading on a thin line with his mom already

    July 29, 2008 at 9:56 pm

  2. my3boysandi

    It isnt nice that he was laughing at others either

    July 29, 2008 at 9:56 pm

  3. Sounds like the mother already knew their may be issues. Too bad for him but ultimately it was his decision and he was warned by his mother.

    July 29, 2008 at 10:49 pm

  4. You don’t have to feel bad! His mom already told him what the consequences of his bahaviour will be … she followed through. I do think that keeping him away for good is also not the solution – she should let him play cricket and show that his behaviout has improved

    Oh, boy!!! Do I sound like a “know-it-all” mother? Wasn’t my intention 😉

    July 30, 2008 at 8:02 am

  5. Honestly? Good for you for sticking to your word. Also good for his mom that she stuck to HER word too.

    You both totally did the right thing. If he’s still throwing tantrums at that age, and doesn’t learn consequences, then it’s a slipper slope from there.

    I wouldn’t feel bad, you did the right thing 🙂

    July 30, 2008 at 8:30 am

  6. Don’t feel bad – you can’t have not proper kids on the field.

    July 30, 2008 at 10:13 am

  7. consequences my friend, he just got what was coming to him! don’t feel bad, honestly 🙂

    July 30, 2008 at 11:13 am

  8. bigmama

    Please don’t feel bad!! This is the time for that little guy to learn – and he will have learned a valuable lesson. I hope that the mom will stay put with her decision…it’s better to have cricket taken away at this age rather than high school!!!

    July 31, 2008 at 2:18 am

  9. well done to you and to his mom!
    i reckon his mom’s great to stick to her guns and follow through with her threat!

    July 31, 2008 at 10:15 pm

  10. Awww, I would have felt the same, but you can’t let it bother you long. When my son was younger he was pulled from many an activity due to his behavior. He seems to be more adapt at handling himself socially now, but it took some time, and some consequences to get there.

    Good luck with the rest of them!!!

    August 1, 2008 at 7:58 pm

Leave a Reply

