Super Mom

Strike …

Trade unionists in South Africa are holding a one-day strike in protest against the high cost of living.

Ooookkkkkaaaaayyyy….no problem if you want to strike.  Our constitution gives you the right to do so, so go ahead and make your point.  Peacefully.  Willingly.

Typically though, it’s hardly ever peaceful or willingly.  Just this morning taxi’s had stones thrown at them, should they dare to transport passengers.  People trying to leave the location via bicycle was also attacked and stopped.  Threats warnings were giving that houses will be burnt down if workers went to work.

So much for a peaceful strike.  I personally think most of them don’t even know what the strike is about.  I don’t think those who receive the memorandum even reads it or give any attention to it.

Don’t argue with an idiot; people watching may not be able to tell the difference.

7 responses

  1. Jenty

    I think it’s a waste of time too

    August 6, 2008 at 1:01 pm

  2. Isn’t always such a ‘rent a crowd’ thing? You’d think people would spend more time jobhunting than dancing in the streets right? Um, no apparently not in this country…pffft. Lol.

    August 6, 2008 at 2:09 pm

  3. Hmmm, I agree in principle – the price of food here is astronomical and not looking to get any better any time soon. I am with you on the manner in which it is done though. Bullies out for what they can get in the violence stakes!

    I found your blog on the South African Blogger’s Network – very entertaining… I will be back!

    August 6, 2008 at 2:30 pm

  4. I hope the day went off without too many problems!

    I love that quote. =)

    August 6, 2008 at 3:22 pm

  5. “Don’t argue with an idiot; people watching may not be able to tell the difference”
    Good advice, it will help me to deal with my inlaws.

    August 7, 2008 at 6:42 am

  6. Funny – my husband isn’t into electronics either. I got him set up with an email address at home – and he has one for work. He knows how to go in and check it, that’s about it. He doesn’t write them if he doesn’t absolutely HAVE to for work. 🙂

    We still have our old ‘real’ letters though from our dating days – back when I was 15 and he was 16 and we met. We wrote letters off and on over the next 3 years we dated and they are in a box in the basement.

    August 7, 2008 at 7:32 pm

  7. I love it when people go on strike … PnP is empty, there are now taxis or busses on the road and life in general is very quiet!!!

    I feel sorry for the people for work in centre of town though … cos that’s where its really bad. Here in Pretoria we heard of people’s cars being smashed and commuters being dragged out of taxis!!!

    August 8, 2008 at 10:57 am

Leave a Reply

