Super Mom

I almost lost two of my sons

Even writing this down scares me.

The boys went to play golf with my brother and Tommie.  Totally oblivious to the danger my kids were in, I was happily following their game via WeGolf.  An amazing program.  I can see exactly where they are on the golf course, see the score card and get up to date photos.  Stunning application that.  It even shows where your shots went (on google earth no less).  While playing it tells you have far the green is from where you are standing. If I played golf, I would SO have WeGolf.  (If you want to find out about this, you can get hold of Michael 082 563 7582)

Anway, I decide to join them after the first 9 holes.  This is when I found out just how close my boys came to serious injury or even death.

Jason (6) and Zander (2) was alone on the golf cart while my brother, Tommie and Quintus was nearby getting ready for the first round.  Out of the corner of his eye, Quintus saw the golf cart pull away at full speed.  Apparently Zander had fallen off the chair to get his chips and fell right onto the petrol pedal.  They pulled off right into the direction of the river.  There is quite a steep slope and long fall before you will even reach the river.

My brother, Quintus and Tommie ran at full speed to try and catch them but there was no way they would get to them before they plunged over the edge.  In the nick of time but brother thought of screaming at Jason to turn the steering wheel.  I thank God that Jason didn’t freeze but immediately did as he was told and turned into the only safe direction they could go.   My brother said there was at the most just another 3 seconds before it would have been too late to do anything.  Another older golfer ran towards them as well but by then Zander had moved off the pedal and they were coming to a halt.

Just like that… by one/two meters, I could have lost my boys. 

Thank goodness Jason was on the golf cart.  If Zander was on it alone, he would never have made it.  Thank goodness Jason didn’t freeze (as I think most kids would).  Thank goodness they are just fine.  I could have lost my boys yesterday.

This is how close the golf course to the water.  The black arrow is about where the boys were heading.

This is where the boys were going.  You will notice that the patch of green grass right by the black arrow, is already a downward slope that would have excelerated their speed even more.

We always say you are very lucky when a ladybug lands on you.  This ladybug landed on Jason’s hand at the club house between the to 9’s.  Jason, what a lucky boy you are indeed.  So are we.  You are my little hero.

29 responses

  1. wow… thank God they’re ok!!!!

    (hugs)

    August 11, 2008 at 1:44 pm

  2. How SCARY! SO happy they’re okay!

    August 11, 2008 at 2:43 pm

  3. Oh that made my heart race just reading it! I am SO thankful to God that they are alright and nothing happened to them:)

    Hugs to you ALL!!!!

    August 11, 2008 at 2:55 pm

  4. SO glad they are both alright!

    August 11, 2008 at 3:18 pm

  5. SPECIAL. I will say it again. That J of yours is an angel on earth. Yes I know, all your boys are special, but that J was sent with a mission. Seriously. This is a story that should be in those books, ‘Chicken soup for the soul’

    Ness

    August 11, 2008 at 3:18 pm

  6. How scary! I’m so glad that they are ok!

    August 11, 2008 at 3:47 pm

  7. pacer521

    Great post, but I can’t comment without sharing something that happened to me which strangely popped into my head when i read this. I was a passenger in a go-kart race during camp a year ago. (I was 12). There race track was bordering a golf course too, and right at a turn, the driver (who was my friend) leaned too far and fell off, sending me full speed into the haystacks, which i blew through. About 3 meters after the haystacks was a ledge which seperated the mini-golf from the racing. I did exactly what Jason did, turning the wheel as far as possible. But I still fell. Thankfully, the go-kart landed upright and all I got was a bloody lip and a “that was so awesome” from my friends. I guess with kids unless you break something its cool. 🙂

    Great pictures and report on the incident — I can just imangine it.

    culturedecoded

    August 11, 2008 at 4:06 pm

  8. Oh my goodness, that is so scary. Thank goodness that they are all alright. Jason IS a hero – wow! I am glad that they are all OK. How are you doing now that it is over? I agree, my heart was racing with your post.

    August 11, 2008 at 4:15 pm

  9. OMG! I am so glad that they are ok, and that Jason was able to turn the cart. How incredibly scary.

    August 11, 2008 at 5:03 pm

  10. What a scary experience! I would have freaked out too! Thank God they are ok!!

    August 11, 2008 at 5:11 pm

  11. Whew! That would scare the living daylights out of me.

    August 11, 2008 at 5:21 pm

  12. Michael

    I was the brother running after the cart. It was all so confusing who did what (Not that it is important in a situation like this, but I am sure it was Tommie that shouted for Jason to turn the steering wheel. So luckily he listened to his Dad, who gave him advice that most probably saved their lives 🙂

    August 11, 2008 at 5:21 pm

  13. So scary! Glad they’re okay.

    August 11, 2008 at 5:49 pm

  14. Maybe we’ll just stick with miniature golf!

    August 11, 2008 at 6:45 pm

  15. Wow Mel – what a scary story. Nothing like something like this to jump start your heart. Glad to hear that they are okay but miniture golf may be the best way to go. What a little (big) hero he has. Hugs to you and the boys.

    August 12, 2008 at 12:19 am

  16. mybloggylife

    How horrifying. I’m so glad that they are okay.
    Thank God!!

    August 12, 2008 at 1:49 am

  17. my3boysandi

    Thank goodness they are ok
    HUGS

    August 12, 2008 at 1:56 am

  18. Aaaaah! I’m with Randi-my heart is racing just reading this! Did you have a complete heart attack? We lost JD for about 30 minutes yesterday. He wandered off during our church’s baptism event among several hundred people and couldn’t find us. Found him shortly before the baptism started. One of his church teachers recognized him and asked if he was lost. She stayed with him til Doug found him. In the blink of an eye yes?

    August 12, 2008 at 3:18 am

  19. somayya

    I had goose bumps reading the whole incident. Jason truely is a hero!!!!! tsho!

    August 12, 2008 at 7:44 am

  20. Oh my word, just reading about it gave me the chills! So glad it all turned out okay in the end!!!

    August 12, 2008 at 8:22 am

  21. Addie

    Mel, I read this story yesterday but didn’t comment cos I was “in shock” … can you imagine. I couldn’t stop thinking about it all night!!! And then today I had to come back and read it again.

    Yes, just like everybody else said before me … thank God it all come right in the end and your boys are still around and unharmed.

    Bless you for having had so many people around you in such times.

    August 12, 2008 at 10:19 am

  22. OMG Thank God he didn’t panic. I probably would have. Thank God the boys are safe. God is watching out for you and your boys. Funny how one second can change your life. I am so grateful they are both ok. Sheesh kiss them both for me.

    August 13, 2008 at 8:23 am

  23. Oh no, that is super scary. They must of had little angels riding with them. (:

    August 13, 2008 at 4:09 pm

  24. Mom Archer

    They had angels watching over them. I can’t even begin to think what could have happened. 😦

    August 13, 2008 at 6:48 pm

  25. Melany, my thoughts are prayers are with you. I bet it is terrible seeing in your head that accident and how it happened, especially for your sweet sons. Thank God for it all – that Quintus saw it immediately and screamed, that Jason turned the wheel, and that Zander moved off the pedal. I am thinking of you lots tonight – hug them extra hugs from us-

    August 14, 2008 at 3:11 am

  26. oh mel, i am so glad disaster was averted!

    August 14, 2008 at 7:22 am

  27. That’s an amazing story. Thank goodness they are fine. I remember when I was young, I almost drowned in a stream. It was deeper than me, I didn’t know how to swim, I was mimicking an older friend who was bobbing up and down in the water. Silly me, he was much taller and could stand on the bottom of the stream. He called for help and an older boy ran over and pulled me out. I’ll never forget. I’m sure your sons will never forget their experience.

    August 15, 2008 at 3:10 am

  28. Wenchy

    This is horrible. 😦 I am so glad all is okay.

    Please tell Jay I had three lady bugs land on me in the past week, (besides the one on my back) so I hope I am lucky like him!!!

    August 17, 2008 at 8:27 pm

  29. How scary, must be horrible to even think about but your family was lucky that day.

    The program sounds really cool, something my dad would love im sure

    August 24, 2008 at 8:30 am

Leave a Reply

