Super Mom

Too little to be that big

This morning at 4:30 Quintus left for the weekend with is amazing Uncle Michael.  Last year Quintus and Jason went with Michael on what they called a “Men’s weekend” to my brother in Louis Trichardt.  This weekend would have been the same thing, however Jason opted to stay and go to his friend’s birthday party.

This morning as I woke up Quintus, his body so warm from sleep and the extra heat he gets from sleeping right next to his brother, he seemed so small.  So small to do this…just him.  No Jason.

Even though Quintus and Jason fights like any two brothers, they are extremely close.  Don’t go to sleep without the other.  When they buy sweets at the school tuck shop, they will keep some for the other.  When they can they bring something back from parties they go to.  Pretty much a unit.

The night Jason decided to rather stay, Quintus cried.  He didn’t want to leave Jason behind.  He would miss him too much. 

This morning, after getting dressed and telling me a million times to tell Jason he says goodbye and he is going to miss him, he walked into their room and kissed his sleeping brother good-bye.

That’s a moment I don’t want to forget.  True, honest emotion.

8 responses

  1. …makes your heart skip a beat or even two. Very sweet indeed.

    August 15, 2008 at 6:41 pm

  2. Gorgeous.

    I get the same feeling in the morning when Skippy is all decked out for school, at the front door (ready to go in the car with daddy who drops him off), and then he says, “No! Daddy – wait me! I go kees (Flipper).” Then runs to the pram, stands on tippy toes and plants a kiss on whatever part of ‘Flippers’ head he can reach. It’s SO gorgeous!

    August 15, 2008 at 9:28 pm

  3. my3boysandi

    4:30!!!!!!!! sooner him and you than me

    hope he has a wonderful time

    and how sweet he is

    August 15, 2008 at 11:57 pm

  4. orangeninja76

    How sweet! It warmed my heart to read that.

    August 15, 2008 at 11:59 pm

  5. I am so touched tears came to my eyes. That is about the sweetest thing I have ever heard. Awww I can only imagine how your heart melted at that very moment.

    🙂 They grow up too fast.

    August 16, 2008 at 6:19 am

  6. Calling Him Out

    That is very sweet and nice to hear such brotherly love. I can only hope my boys can be so close.

    August 16, 2008 at 1:08 pm

  7. wow… you’ve done an awesome job!

    August 22, 2008 at 11:37 pm

  8. They say that siblings who fight a lot tend to be the closest, especially when they’re apart. My mom and her younger sister fought a lot while growing up and when my aunt went to Saudi Arabia to work 20 years ago, she would write letters to my mom on a weekly basis!

    September 10, 2008 at 7:15 pm

Leave a Reply

