Super Mom

Routine

Some days I really suck at this parenting job.  Zander loves going with to cricket practise.  He is so good.  He just walks around between the kids, bothering no-one but taking lessons from all.  Very adorable. He leaves with my dad and then Tommie normally picks him up from my parent’s home.  This is the way it is.  This is how it works.  This is his routine and this works for him.

Today was the second time I messed with his routine and the second time he had a total melt-down.  My mistake.  Both times.  I took him back to the cricket field, back to my dad the first time.  I did it again today.

We come around the corner, with the cricket field in front of us.  I have a crying, sobbing Zander lying with his head on my shoulder.  He turns around, scans the field and doesn’t see my dad.  In this extremely sad and broken voice he says (My Oupa weg) “My Oupa gone”.  Complete with the hand en alles.  Oh my goodness.  My heart broke just there even though I knew my dad was just in the class room, busy putting the cricket stuff away.

I felt so bad.  I should not mess with this.  He has no say.  He has no way of getting back to my dad and back to the routine he knows except for having a melt-down.

I do think all is okay now though.  Especially when he turned to me tonight and said “Kiss” and gave me one.  “Hug” and gave me one and then “and high five” and gave me one 🙂

All is well in our world again.

4 responses

  1. Oh, Mel … this was such a sweet post!!!
    I actually smiled at the idea of “complete with hand and alles”

    BTW, you do a great job at parenting those three gems of yours!!!

    September 9, 2008 at 8:39 pm

  2. Ah, you are such a caring mom!

    September 10, 2008 at 4:06 am

  3. Sometimes children don’t understand a change in schedule. Mine certainly don’t. I don’t like my own schedule being changed let alone my poor kids. However, with a new school and a new school system too bad for us. Finding after school care seems IMPOSSIBLE at least one that isn’t 525 USD per month. SHEESH That is a lot even here. Hope all is well with you and the boys.

    September 10, 2008 at 5:11 am

  4. oupa weg? oh man!!! so sweet, never mess with his schedule again mommy 🙂

    September 10, 2008 at 1:42 pm

Leave a Reply

